Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Was expecting a better muffin. Used applesauce as suggested by some other reviewers to increase the moistness but still turned out dry. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Because my husband is diabetic I used 3/4 Slenda and 1/4 sugar in the recipe and they still were very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
I liked these, but found them a litte dry the first time I made them. I too, used baking powder and less soda. I didn't have Raisin Bran cereal so I used oatmeal and ground graham flour--very good. Also, plain yogourt is a good substitute for buttermilk. All baking should have vanilla! Second time, I used 2/3 cup of honey in place of sugar which solved the moisture problem and Raisin bran cereal definately is better to use in this recipe!! Yum, Yum--will make again and again with honey, vanilla and Raisin bran!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I prety much altered this recipe beyond recognition... 1tsp baking powder, 3/4 tsp soda, a full cup carrots, and instead of raisin bran cereal, I used a cup of quick-cooking oatmeal and 3/4 cup of Grape-nuts cereal. AND I dind't have buttermilk, so I used 1/2 cup low fat sour cream and 1/2 cup skim milk. I would decrease the powder next time to 3/4 tsp and add raisins or chopped prunes. They turned out great, not really cake-ey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I made 42 mini muffins that baked for 13 minutes with this recipe. Following some of the earlier suggestions, I used 1 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. baking soda in place of the 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda called for. I also added 3/4 tsp. vanilla and a handful of golden raisins (this was a good tip.). Turned out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This recipe was great. Very easy to make, and they turned out great. I also added some golden raisins. Just a handful, but I thought it added well to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
These muffins are amazing! I exchanged oatmeal with raisins for the raisin bran and 1 tsp powder and 1/2 tsp soda in place of all that soda. They turned out so light and fluffy - I eat them every morning for breakfast now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Clancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
My 4 year old helped me with this recipe. We made this in an 8x8 in baking pan rather than muffin tins (at the last minute I realized I didn't have them...only the miniature) but it turned out good anyway. I added a splash of vanilla extract to the batter and meant to add a mashed banana, but forgot. Good way to sneak in some extra vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
very good muffins, with lots of fruit and veggie goodness. i substituted lowfat peach yogurt for the buttermilk and unsweetened apple sauce for the sugar. everything else i did to spec and i find them to be chewy, sweet, and generally pretty great. i think i will leave the walnuts out next time, just because i don't care for them too much, and maybe i will try to use some whole wheat flour too for more fiber, but a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I'm a high school senior, and my younger sister and I are always looking for quick breakfasts to eat on the way to school, so I tried these muffins. The recipe is just so-so, but I'm sure that with some "tweaking" they would be much better. I didn't have raisin bran and I'm not a big fan of raisins, so I used Special K instead. I also didn't have buttermilk so I subbed 3/4 tablespoon of vinegar and enough skim milk to make 3/4 cup. Also I omitted the nuts. One thing I found was that the muffins have a prominent baking soda taste, and they didn't rise very much. Next time -- and I will try these again -- I will use one tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda instead of the 1 1/4 tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States