Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
These are much loved by my family and also can be adapted into a nice cake. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
These were the best muffins I have ever made. We used this recipe and made mini muffins to serve at an English Tea. They were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I can't say enough good things about these muffins. This is one of the best and most reliable muffin recipes I've ever tried! Versatile, too. I agree with another reviewer that they're a bit on the sweet side, so I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup. I've used dried blueberries in place of the apples, want to try pear sometime. These are now a mainstay at our house, and they also have the advantage of not tasting "old" the next day (if they last that long!) like many muffin recipes do. Great cut in half and toasted too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Mine came out an absolute disaster. But then, I changed the recipe quite a bit, so it was my fault :-( I added honey instead of sugar and apple sauce instead of oil, and all I got was a gooey mess, which I had to throw out. Next time, will avoid the honey and stick to sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I wasn't overly enamoured with these, though I'm not sure how much was the fault of the recipe and how much was mine. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup because the batter tasted really sweet with that much, and also used plain bran cereal as I had no raisins left. As I say, I don't know if it was because of these changes, but I found the resulting muffins quite bland. Other changes I made included using part natural yoghurt and part milk instead of the buttermilk, grating the apple with the carrots and using part almonds as well as chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
My family just loved these muffins...I am a bit of a health nut..I substituted the oil with apple sauce..I didn't have Raisin Bran so used 1 cup oatmeat & 3/4 cups bran & they turned out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
These muffins are excellent. My whole family loves them so much that I have made them 3 times already this week. Instead of chopped apple, I grated one apple and added about 1/8 to 1/4 cup of applesauce to equal 3/4 cup. I also used regular milk and omitted the walnuts. I cooked them for 13 minutes at 400 degrees and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Just an average recipe. I used olive oil instead of canola, and left out the walnuts. Next time I will just use bran flakes instead of with rasins. The kids would not eat them, but I thought they were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very delicious. I modified the recipe by adding about 1/3 c. unsweetened applesauce and made an icing from powdered sugar and apple juice. Yield one loaf and 6 muffins. Bake at 375 degrees for 45-50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I wasn't thrilled with these. I don't think the ingredients melded enough into a muffin and it seemed like I ended up with apple and carrot bits held together by a muffin shell. They got eated by by husband (my not so picky kids wouldn't touch them). I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States