Apple Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this as a teacher gift for the first day of school. My husband wouldn't let me seal one jar so he could try it and it disappeared! The only thing that I did different was I omitted the raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Gave these away for Christmas. I just need to bake them a little longer next time. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Tasty, but a little strange. After it stores for a while the cake shrinks and there is noticeable liquid in the jar. I would not recommend storing them for more than a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe makes the best cake in a jar I've ever eaten! I absolutey love canning, so this was right up my alley! I leave the peels on for the added nutrition. It turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The only thing I changed in this recipe was to substitute the nutmeg for allspice(out of nutmeg) and to do as another reviewer suggested, to squeeze the juice for my apple and add enough water to make the required amount. I also baked it in 2 8in. square pans for 45 - 1 hour. This was "very apple-y and very cake-y" says my well versed husband. While it's very good, and moist, I just feel it's missing that WOW factor, and will probally continue to look for another apple cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
At first I was a little skeptical about a canned cake, but I have to tell you that this is fantastic! The cake is moist, very good flavor and so easy to prepare. The hardest part was greasing the canning jars:) This is one gift that is going to be a treat to pass out for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I really like it but now I am concerned about keeping it too long, so I guess we'll eat it pronto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was great tasting bread and easy to make. I tied a fall ribbon around each jar and gave it to the girls at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
These were fun to make...had to put the baby down for a nap and clear the counters to start. I boiled my jars and greased them with butter flavor crisco. Shredded enough granny smith apples to make 3 cups (drained of juice) and mixed all in my stand mixer...Instead of 2/3 cup water I used the juice and enough water to make 2/3 cup...filled 8 jars with 1 cup of batter and baked on a cookie sheet. Just before they were done I threw the lids and rings in boiling water to sterilize and they sealed wonderfully. I couldn't wait until morning to taste so I opened one while it was still warm and thought it tasted very yummy...Can't wait to see what everyone else thinks...Thanks for this recipe, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! I keep them frozen and use for friends when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States