Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I was looking for something "autumny" to match the weather and this sounded good. Although we only had one apple in the house (we added 2 tablespoons oil so it didn't turn out dry), it was awesome!!! I can't wait to try it with 2 apples. I had my hubby take some to my picky next-door neighbor (okay, she's my mother), and she called requesting this as her standing birthday cake from this day forward. My kids didn't like it, but they don't like anything without chocolate or vanilla, so their opinions don't count. The only thing I might change is adding raisins....I think that would make this the best cake ever. Thanks for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This recipe was fabulous! I added an extra apple and the cake was so moist! The icing made too much, though. Next time I will divide the icing ingredients in half and maybe substitute vanilla for almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Dicing the apples allows you to enjoy their flavor and texture more. Still, this cake got rave reviews from everyone who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUNDERKINDER
Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Custer, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
DELICIOUS!! i may not add as much sugar to the sauce next time, but wow.. this is a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is the easiest cake I've ever made. It didn't even take the whole 50 minutes. It smelled and tasted great! It's ever so moist, too. I really like the creamy sauce but wish that it's more custardlike. I can't really taste the apples so may add more in the future. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Wow, this cake tastes as fabulous as it smells! Easy too. A real keeper. (I substituted for one egg and it didn't hurt a bit.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is a great recipe and it is very easy to make. My family loved it! Try adding a tablespoon of Amaretto to the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
All I can say is YYYYYUUUUUUUUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
So moist and yummy!! Everyone loves it- my children, my mother my husband our guests...etc... A must have!!! The sauce really makes the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Fantastic and easy to make. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States