Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Instead of a pie plate, next time I would use a normal cake pan to make sure it cooks more evenly. My friends liked it and said to make it again. The texture was a little different- really moist- but still good. Use only about 1 tbsp of the sauce- it's really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
The cake part was nothing too exciting, but the butter sauce was delicious. Next time I'm going to add an extra apple. I doubled the cake recipe and put it in 3 8" cake pans. Then I baked it for 35 min. which turned out to be too long. I used Caramel Frosting VII (also from this site) inbetween the two middle layers- I didn't put any on the top. Then I served it with the butter sauce- wonderful my family loved it! I used regular whipping cream for the butter sauce, and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
My mother requested a spice cake for her birthday, and based on reviews, I picked this one. She was disappointed it wasn't a traditional 2 layer cake with icing, until she tried it. She said it tasted like a fancy desert you'd get at a nice restaraunt. Everyone raved and loved it. Its very rich, moist, great served with ice cream. There was a lot of excess butter sauce, you could easily 1/2 the ingredients for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This was a delicious, moist and very easy cake to make. As recommended by others, I finely chopped the apples instead of grating them. I also added about 1 tsp. of brandy to the sauce, yum yum!! I was serving it to kids so next time I may add just a few drops more ; ) This is a wonderful recipe, do give it a try, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This is yummy. In addition, I use the rich butter sauce with several other recipes, notably Stephanie's persimmon pudding, found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I misread the recipe and bought thick cream, instead of heavy whipping cream. I guess the topping was supposed to be fluffy, but mine turned out runny. It was still delicious though. I'll try it with the whipping cream next time. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Followed the directions, but did not turn out how I thought. Something was missing, rather just make an old fashioned apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I added 1 extra apple that was diced instead of grated. Everyone thought the cake was moist and delicious warm. Be sure to stir the sauce enough to completely dissolve the sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
The apple cake was good by itself and then when you add that wonderful butter sauce, it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This turned out great! I grated the apples on a cheese grater and used 1 tbl of applesauce to make it extra moist. The sauce was so tasty but it made about twice the amount one would possibly need on this cake. Overall, I loved this and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States