Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
this cake was very tasty. i did, however make a few small changes. i really like cinnamon, so i upped it to a full tsp. also, i like using wheat flour, so i used 1/2c wheat and 1/2c white flour. instead of a glass pie pan i used my pampered chef stoneware pie pan. it was very tasty and moist. the sauce went with it very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
So delicious! I used two jumbo apples, one grated and one chopped fine. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste. I made this for my husband who used to eat apple cake as a kid. He said it tasted like a great memory! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
About 1/4 cup Galliano liquor in the sauce is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Always popular when I make it. Excellent without the sauce as well (which is very sweet). A food processor really helps with grating the apples. I also cube about 1/2 an apple - leaves wonderful chewy bits in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this cake the other day and my husband and I loved it. My 16 year old grandson was not to crazy about it. I didn't make the sauce just used cool whip and it was great. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
If we could give this more stars...we most certaintly would. My DH is still making remarks about this recipe. What an outstanding recipe and nothing could be easier. Last weekend we went to the Octoberfest in Mt Angel, Oregon and he had their apple cake with butter sauce and he says this is even better. Will be making this for years to come. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
The sauce is lovely - I cut the ingredients in half and it was plenty. My mother-in-law loved the cake and my sister thought it should be thicker. Hubby said it lacked something and I agree. For some reason, it is not satisfying and not worth all the butter and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
sorry, didn't like this much... the cake was just OK and the butter sauce was waaaaay to sugary, I couldn't eat it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I switched the butter sauce for a cinnamon, clove and nutmeg-based frosting, and it was very tasty. Quite sugary, but rich and filling. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Instead of a pie plate, next time I would use a normal cake pan to make sure it cooks more evenly. My friends liked it and said to make it again. The texture was a little different- really moist- but still good. Use only about 1 tbsp of the sauce- it's really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States