Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was very moist. I did like others suggested and substituted applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This has become one of family's very favorite cakes. I served it at a dinner party last night to rave reviews. The texture is a bit like gingerbread. I add craisins and three apples. Both the cake and sauce has be made in advance. I serve it warm, either warm in oven or microwave a slice for 15 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This cake is the BEST. It is perfect just as written. The only thing I would say is watch cook time closely- for me it was done in more like 40 minutes. This is a definite keeper- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I am eating my 2nd slice and find this DELICIOUS! I only had small apples, so I used 4 of them. I used a silicon form and turned the oven off at 35 minutes. I have not yet made the sauce, because I am trying to save calories, but alone this cake is very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made this cake for my husband's family. They all absolutely loved it. This cake was heavenly! I also used three apples in my cake...and it did end up boiling over the dish. Was still delicious. And yes....too much sauce...but, holy cow, was it delicious! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We celebrated my mom's 75th birthday today. Went out for Mexican food and margaritas and came home and had this for dessert. I baked the cake earlier but did not feel like shredding the apples so I cut them in small cubes. Then I made the sauce when we got home adding the 1 T. Amaretto as suggested in another review. It was delicious! Everyone was 'umm'ing and Mom said that was the best cake she had had in a long time. Gave her the leftovers to take home. Reminded us of a bread pudding. Next time I think I will serve warm with the warm sauce. This one is going in my keeper file for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is really good. It tastes very holiday-ish/. It does have about twice as much nutmeg as I feel is necessary though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
So good! Easy to make and a big hit! I would suggest serving it with ice cream to cut the richness because it is VERY rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and 2/3 white. I also went ahead and greased and floured a 9 inch round cake pan... I was scared to try baking this in an ungreased pie plate?! I baked it and 350 for 30 minutes and it was finished. I also used 3 large apples. For the sauce I used brown sugar instead of white sugar (like the picture I would guess) and also had way too much sauce. I don't have a double broiler either... just cooked on low and stired constantly. Definately will half the sauce. This was fabulous! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
always a hit!! I always end up eating the leftovers the same night I make it. really easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily
Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States