Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I was looking for something "autumny" to match the weather and this sounded good. Although we only had one apple in the house (we added 2 tablespoons oil so it didn't turn out dry), it was awesome!!! I can't wait to try it with 2 apples. I had my hubby take some to my picky next-door neighbor (okay, she's my mother), and she called requesting this as her standing birthday cake from this day forward. My kids didn't like it, but they don't like anything without chocolate or vanilla, so their opinions don't count. The only thing I might change is adding raisins....I think that would make this the best cake ever. Thanks for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is a great recipe and it is very easy to make. My family loved it! Try adding a tablespoon of Amaretto to the butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This turned out great! I grated the apples on a cheese grater and used 1 tbl of applesauce to make it extra moist. The sauce was so tasty but it made about twice the amount one would possibly need on this cake. Overall, I loved this and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This recipe was fabulous! I added an extra apple and the cake was so moist! The icing made too much, though. Next time I will divide the icing ingredients in half and maybe substitute vanilla for almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Dicing the apples allows you to enjoy their flavor and texture more. Still, this cake got rave reviews from everyone who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUNDERKINDER
Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Custer, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
So moist and yummy!! Everyone loves it- my children, my mother my husband our guests...etc... A must have!!! The sauce really makes the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This is by far the best ever coffee cake I have had the pleasure of baking! It is moist and quite flavourful and that butter sauce is "to die for"!!! It is quite easy to make and oh so worth it! Great for brunches or teas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We celebrated my mom's 75th birthday today. Went out for Mexican food and margaritas and came home and had this for dessert. I baked the cake earlier but did not feel like shredding the apples so I cut them in small cubes. Then I made the sauce when we got home adding the 1 T. Amaretto as suggested in another review. It was delicious! Everyone was 'umm'ing and Mom said that was the best cake she had had in a long time. Gave her the leftovers to take home. Reminded us of a bread pudding. Next time I think I will serve warm with the warm sauce. This one is going in my keeper file for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I added 1 extra apple that was diced instead of grated. Everyone thought the cake was moist and delicious warm. Be sure to stir the sauce enough to completely dissolve the sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is the easiest cake I've ever made. It didn't even take the whole 50 minutes. It smelled and tasted great! It's ever so moist, too. I really like the creamy sauce but wish that it's more custardlike. I can't really taste the apples so may add more in the future. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States