Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
PHENOMENAL cake, and the sauce tops it off excellently. Sauce is like Applebee's Maple Brownie Sundae sauce ... mmmmmmm! Husband and children (ages 6 and 9) loved it. The best compliment? After serving small seconds of the dessert, my son asked, "Can I have thirds?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
this cake was very tasty. i did, however make a few small changes. i really like cinnamon, so i upped it to a full tsp. also, i like using wheat flour, so i used 1/2c wheat and 1/2c white flour. instead of a glass pie pan i used my pampered chef stoneware pie pan. it was very tasty and moist. the sauce went with it very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
So delicious! I used two jumbo apples, one grated and one chopped fine. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste. I made this for my husband who used to eat apple cake as a kid. He said it tasted like a great memory! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
About 1/4 cup Galliano liquor in the sauce is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granny D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Always popular when I make it. Excellent without the sauce as well (which is very sweet). A food processor really helps with grating the apples. I also cube about 1/2 an apple - leaves wonderful chewy bits in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this cake the other day and my husband and I loved it. My 16 year old grandson was not to crazy about it. I didn't make the sauce just used cool whip and it was great. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
If we could give this more stars...we most certaintly would. My DH is still making remarks about this recipe. What an outstanding recipe and nothing could be easier. Last weekend we went to the Octoberfest in Mt Angel, Oregon and he had their apple cake with butter sauce and he says this is even better. Will be making this for years to come. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
The sauce is lovely - I cut the ingredients in half and it was plenty. My mother-in-law loved the cake and my sister thought it should be thicker. Hubby said it lacked something and I agree. For some reason, it is not satisfying and not worth all the butter and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
sorry, didn't like this much... the cake was just OK and the butter sauce was waaaaay to sugary, I couldn't eat it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I switched the butter sauce for a cinnamon, clove and nutmeg-based frosting, and it was very tasty. Quite sugary, but rich and filling. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States