Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
There's nothing amazing about this recipe, it's just a really good breakfast bread (like zucchini bread or banana bread). I like that it was a simple recipe so my daughter could help and cooking it in the pie pan was nice and easy, too. (not sure what's going on with the picture that goes with this recipe because clearly that's not the same shape) And we all loved the butter sauce but i agree with the others that it calls for way too much - i made a half-batch and i still had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Easy to make!! The family loved loved loved this!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This cake is like tasting Fall, it was moist and apple-e-delicous! I took the advice of previous reviews and checked the cake after 30 minutes, and it was done. Also I cut the sauce in half. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wonderful cake. I served mine with a white chocolate glaze instead of the butter sauce (had the glaze made already and was too lazy to make butter sauce lol). Everyone had seconds and it was gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This cake was amazing! I saved the butter sauce in a jar to serve later. Everything was perfect! Even my not so big apple eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
The cake is absolutely delicious. Followed previous advice and added a bit more apple, and kept the apples chunky. I also halved the butter sauce recipe. I am only giving this 4 stars because there's no advice given on what to do with the butter sauce if the cake is not being served immediately. I would not recommend adding all of the sauce to the cake because it would become too soggy. I only used a small portion of the sauce for what was being served immediately, and didn't bother to reheat the sauce at future servings. The good news is the cake is delicious without the sauce. Next time I will not make the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Excellent, especially the sauce! (Half the original amount of sauce is plenty for one cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I have many similar apple cake recipes but all have been made with oil. This one is much better - butter makes the difference. Half the sauce is enough or it is just too sweet. Thanks for submitting an apple cake that is superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I cut the nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp. Will cut it down to 1/8 next time I make this recipe. Although we like nutmeg, it overpowered all the other flavors. Could be because we use organic nutmeg - which is definitely more flavorful than conventional. Also took other reviewers advice & only made half the qty. of sauce. Sweet enough to use as a drizzled topping. New family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onthebeach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
A little on the sweet side for my family, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States