Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is my second time making this cake and it is wonderfully delicious. Both times I decreased both sugars by 1/4 cup and it was sweet enough. I also added 1 cup of walnuts. The first time I made the cake I cut back on the apples because it seemed like so much but didn't take into account that the apples would cook down so the second time I actually added more. Also, the second time around, I added another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Although it was great the first time I thought it lacked the spice you get with apple pie. Came out great both ways but I will stick to how I made it the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The recipe called for too much sugar. I reduced the white sugar to half a cup and added a cup of walnuts. It turned out great after my modifications. I made these in muffin tin instead and this recipe yielded 24 cupcake sized muffins with baking time of 20 minutes. You will have to fill the papercups all the way as the batter doesn't rise much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This cake is excellent. I made it precisely as written, and it's wonderful. Didn't let it cool the whole 60 minutes, 'tho, because the kids were clamoring for dessert. I allowed the pan to cool for 15 minutes, until I could see that the outside edge was separating from the pan. Ran a knife around the tube, and it came right out. Cut it immediately with a serrated knife, and they're eating it right up, warm from the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This cake is simple and very good. I cut the sugar in half and chopped the apples instead of grating them - received lots of compliments on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Can’t go wrong with this! Absolutely amazing! I used a mixture of apples and cut them into cubes. my apples were small so i thought i wouldn't have enough, but actually i left some out! it ended up being about 6-7 cups. Very moist with a "crunchy" outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This cake was way better than I expected. I used 11 cups of shredded apples. I only had half a stick of butter, so I used half a stick of butter and one of those little 4 oz applesauce containers. It was light and moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
A great way to use up an overabundance of apples with other staple ingredients; making this extra simple. I only had golden and red delicious apples of smaller to medium size and it was plenty. I just threw them into the food processor and left a few larger bits. Left the skins on for added color and fiber. Only additions were 1/2 tsp. black walnut extract and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. clove. I agree with other reviewers as to the ease of not sticking. This was the easiest cake I ever got out of a bundt pan! I only tasted the remaining moist coating left inside the pan but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very moist and tasty. I reduced the sugars by .25 cups each and increased the cinnamon by .5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Very good recipe. I haved the sugar (like all American recipes - sugar content is waaay to much. It can be even lowered some more) and also substituted with honey. This would also benefit from some walnuts. Other than that - a great, moist / firm texture. I *will* try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a wonderful tasting cake. Nice and moist, just the right sweetness.. does not really need powdered sugar sprinkled on it. Expect a heavy bundt cake.....but extremely delicious. Hubby loved it. I will definitely be making this cake again. Oh and I added about 1/2 cup of raisins, and 1 cup chopped walnuts. mmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States