Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Truly Easy! Truly Tasty! Remarkably moist and flavorful. We substituted the vanilla with Coconut Rum, and also added a cup of chopped walnuts---after we mixed the batter we decided that those alterations would be delicious--and believe me--this cake is EXCELLENT! We cut it about an hour after it had backed so it was still slightly warm and it was great--I just had a piece(a day later)--and when cooled the apple flavor really comes out well! I loved it--and already have the reciped printed out so I dont loose this one-a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very moist and tasty. I reduced the sugars by .25 cups each and increased the cinnamon by .5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Oooohhh YUM!!! This cake was excellent! I might try some walnuts or pecans next time but it really is perfect without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear4965

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This cake was rather heavy which is not a plus in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I really only take time to rate and review recipes on here that were really great or really not-so great ( thinking this may help others decide on trying or skipping the recipe) and this apple cake was supreme. My hubby has a luncheon at work and everyone loved this cake. SO much better than bundts from a cake mix. *Note- I do recommend using a cream cheese or caramel glaze on this cake, it makes it even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This cake is excellent. I made it precisely as written, and it's wonderful. Didn't let it cool the whole 60 minutes, 'tho, because the kids were clamoring for dessert. I allowed the pan to cool for 15 minutes, until I could see that the outside edge was separating from the pan. Ran a knife around the tube, and it came right out. Cut it immediately with a serrated knife, and they're eating it right up, warm from the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My family always loves "apple season time" and I'm always trying new recipes. We really liked this cake but I would double the frosting. I actually took one layer to work and saved the other for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I diced my apples instead of shredding them like another reviewer and really enjoyed the "chunks" of apples. Also used 1t cinnamon and 1t of nutmeg (ran out of cinnamon) which was nice. This was a really, really easy and delicious cake. I wanted to find a different/unique apple recipe that wasn't apple pie. This works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very good apple cake. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Can’t go wrong with this! Absolutely amazing! I used a mixture of apples and cut them into cubes. my apples were small so i thought i wouldn't have enough, but actually i left some out! it ended up being about 6-7 cups. Very moist with a "crunchy" outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States