Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a wonderful cake. I decreased the amounts of both sugars by 1/4 cup and added a little extra cinnamon and also nutmeg. I did use the called for amount of apples but roungh chopped the last 2. Definitly will be made again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Wow, I'm wondering if I did something wrong here, because everyone else is raving! Mine was moist to the point of mushiness. It tasted good, but was more like a bread pudding. I put it back in the pan (an adventure in itself!) and baked it a little longer to dry it out a little last night, but this morning it appeared to be mushy again! I'll have to try a piece when I get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was fantastic! I made it for my father-in-law's birthday and it went over very well. Got lots of compliments that it was such a wonderful fall dessert! I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts and added a 1/2 cup of Craisins. I glazed it with Caramel Frosting I by MaryKaye (tripling the butter, milk and brown sugar in that recipe) and it was awesome! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was good and very moist, but tasted a lot like zuccini breads that I've had. I guess I was expecting something more. I think some chopped walnuts in the cake and the addition of a glaze over the top would make this 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
very very good. i used 6 macs instead of 7 and added a little over 1 cup of fresh cranberries to add a bit of zing. a great packable cake to send along in a bag lunch or to take on a hike..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OVIEDOGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this cake for a friend's 30th birthday. It's delicious! I added more cinnamon and nutmeg, chopped 2 of the apples because my hand was tired of shredding, used whole wheat flour and added about a cup of chopped walnuts. I topped it with Caramel Frosting VI from this site, and then made fall leaves out of gum paste, and sprinkled them all over the cake before the frosting set. The cake was moist and dense. People kept sneaking "just a little bit more" all night long, and one person hid a piece so he could have some on his flight home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OVIEDOGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Delicious! Very moist. It's easy to make. I think this cake would also taste good with some chopped walnuts. I'm going to try that next time. It's a great cake as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This recipe is superb. The only thing I did was to use 8 apples, and I chopped 3 of them into chunks and grated the rest. I get the feeling from reading some of these reviews that a lot of people are using tasteless apples like golden delicious for this recipe. Don't!!! You need an apple with flavour for this cake. I will be making this lots. It was like sinking into a mountain of toffee apple goodness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is a really good way to use apples or zuchinni. I only had 3 apples so I used applesauce for the rest of the amount. The cake is very dense and moist. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Zowie, this is good. Tasty, moist and hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States