Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Great cake! It dissappeard in a day at my house. The only thing I would suggest is make sure there are no apple chunks - make sure it's just grated bits. I found the little chunks that I threw in mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This cake is delish! So moist! I only made 1/2 the recipe and put it in a small bundt pan. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, cut out the brown sugar and used only 1/2 cup of white sugar. It was very sweet with only 1/2 the sugar, I would never use the full amount of sugar. I did not shred the apples, just left them sliced. It was great, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is a great cake that doesn't need icing. 3-4 chopped/shredded apples are plenty. I use Crisco spray on my bundt pan and have never had a problem with it sticking. Serve with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Yummy. I used 9 apples. 2 of the apples I chopped up while I grated the rest. I did strain the grated apples to remove some of the excess moisture. I did cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 t nutmeg, and made a carmel icing to put over the cake. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I just made this and was pleased with the result. I always like to follow a recipe precisely as listed the first time I make it, so I did shred all of the apples. I wish I had chopped half of them instead- the shredded ones kind of melt into the cake (maybe a firmer apple would have worked better? I used Macouns). Also, I think you definitely need to drain the apples- after reading the last review, I did drain mine and the cake was still super moist. The flavor was great and everyone loved it- I dusted it with confectioner's sugar but agree that a caramel icing would be ideal. A great fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very yummy! It takes a long time to peel, core, and grate all those apples, but this is such a good cake, it's worth it. It's super moist and has excellent flavor. I did not have any problems with soggy cake as other reviewers mentioned. I made sure to fold in the apple really well and distribute it evenly throughout the batter. I think that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
UGH! So I did as suggested by everyone (shred half, chop half). A quarter of my cake is totally soggy while the rest is fine. When shredding the apples, maybe they should be drained? I am totally disappointed in how this cake turned out...it was supposed to be a 'welcome to the office' thing - but it can't be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
the presentation is not pretty, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was very moist, and excellent with the caramel frosting. Note: The caramel frosting doesn't last as long as the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I didn't have a bundt pan on hand, so I baked this in two glass dishes instead. Because of the pan substitution, I should have reduced the temp to 300, as the cake browned before it cooked all the way. I also grated all the apples, but will rough chop half next time I make it, so there is more texture (was very similar to carrot cake, as one reviewer wrote) to the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States