Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Just finished baking this cake. I changed two things. I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I'm type 1 diabetic so cutting sugar out or down in a recipe is important. I also used about 4 cups chopped apples. With the reduction in sugar and chunks of apples, this cake is delicious! Perfect mix of sweet and spice for the fall. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Fantastic as was. Was worried about the amount of apples. I used large apples, reduced to 6 but 7 would've been okay. Bowl full of apples...which I used the food processor on, because grating was taking forever. For those who thought too sweet, wonder what apples they chose. I picked 4 granny smith and 2 galas. No reason to add lemon for fear of apples turning brown...the cake is brown....Kept everything as is and my country boyfriend who was longing for an apple cake he remembered from long ago sliced into and devoured before dinner. He thought glaze would be even better but settled for the powdered sugar which I added after. Cooking time was perfect and the cake popped out with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Made this as the recipe states and made a butter/powder sugar frosting and EVERYONE loved it. Keep this recipe handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a really bit hit! Very moist and dense. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Made this for a church dinner because I had all he ingredients on hand and didn't want to go to the store for anything else. Very good and moist. This is now the only apple cake I'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Decrease both sugars by at least a 1/4 cup but perferably by half. Increase cinnamon by another half teaspoon. Serve with a cinnamon cream cheese glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
If you've ever had the Tastefully Simple apple cake and loved it, you're gonna love this!! I threw my apples in the food processor so some pieces were small and some larger (about 1/4"), and I think the 8" square pan is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent flavor, super moist. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Oh good grief - so so so good. Made as writtend except for adding an add't tsp of vanilla, and increased the cinnamon to 2 tbsp. Don't pass this one up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I really like this cake. I serve it as a breakfast/brunch option when I have a lot of company around the holidays. I reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States