Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The recipe called for too much sugar. I reduced the white sugar to half a cup and added a cup of walnuts. It turned out great after my modifications. I made these in muffin tin instead and this recipe yielded 24 cupcake sized muffins with baking time of 20 minutes. You will have to fill the papercups all the way as the batter doesn't rise much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is my second time making this cake and it is wonderfully delicious. Both times I decreased both sugars by 1/4 cup and it was sweet enough. I also added 1 cup of walnuts. The first time I made the cake I cut back on the apples because it seemed like so much but didn't take into account that the apples would cook down so the second time I actually added more. Also, the second time around, I added another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Although it was great the first time I thought it lacked the spice you get with apple pie. Came out great both ways but I will stick to how I made it the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This cake was way better than I expected. I used 11 cups of shredded apples. I only had half a stick of butter, so I used half a stick of butter and one of those little 4 oz applesauce containers. It was light and moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This cake is simple and very good. I cut the sugar in half and chopped the apples instead of grating them - received lots of compliments on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
A great way to use up an overabundance of apples with other staple ingredients; making this extra simple. I only had golden and red delicious apples of smaller to medium size and it was plenty. I just threw them into the food processor and left a few larger bits. Left the skins on for added color and fiber. Only additions were 1/2 tsp. black walnut extract and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. clove. I agree with other reviewers as to the ease of not sticking. This was the easiest cake I ever got out of a bundt pan! I only tasted the remaining moist coating left inside the pan but it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This was AWESOME!!! Even my apple-hating husband loved it. Nuts would be a great addition. It is very moist and goes well with a glaze. I made a half recipe and it baked very nicely in an 8" round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was a great cake. I added apple pie filling instead because that's what i had around and it still turned out wonderful. I advise that people use real apples though because I had to cook it a little longer than I wanted to. I also added cream cheese frosting. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a wonderful tasting cake. Nice and moist, just the right sweetness.. does not really need powdered sugar sprinkled on it. Expect a heavy bundt cake.....but extremely delicious. Hubby loved it. I will definitely be making this cake again. Oh and I added about 1/2 cup of raisins, and 1 cup chopped walnuts. mmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Awesome Easy Cake to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States