Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Incredible...eveyone loved it..so moist and yummy....and simple to make...i added half and apple more....followed the recipe exactly as written otherwise....a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natashacooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Oops -- Made a mistake in my earlier review. Subsituted applesauce for the BUTTER, not for the sugars. Then cut back on the sugar by 1/2 c as noted in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Ymmy cake! I cut the sugar like everyone suggested (to 1.5 cups) and still found it very sweet... (don't get me wrong! Its delicious! but it could be cut more if you're counting calories) Easy to make... the hardest part is peeling/coring/shredding the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Fresz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I have a history with any sort of baked goods with apple in it. They invariably stick to the pan no matter how well I grease and flour it. This cake has to be the first one that didn't. That in itself makes it a success for me. The fact that it was beautifully moist, tasted terrific and disappeared in no time was a bonus. A very big thankyou jillybeans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by grammied
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is a moist cake. This recipe gets all 5 stars because everyone loved it as is and no one said it was 'too sweet'. I just didn't grate the apples, I only chopped them. I am making a note to myself that the apples should be large. We all loved the brown sugar sauce which I did change just a bit as I had no brandy... I put butterscotch schnapps and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake was ok, unfortunately the week before I made a different apple cake recipe that was really good, so this one just didn't measure up to that one is all. I did follow the exact directions and it came out nice, I just won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Cut the sugar in half like others say and you'll still have a fab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Makes a very dense, moist cake, not overly apple-y though...I would NOT recommend letting it cool for the hour in the pan, mine totally stuck despite being properly buttered and floured...it just set in there and wouldnt spring loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I usually read through several reviews before I choose a recipe. i sort by "most helpful" and it really makes a difference. I gave it 4 stars because I made quite a few modifications. With my changes, it is 5 star. I started out with adding one extra teaspoon of cinnamon, a few dashes of nutmeg and a few dashes of cloves. I like a nice, flavorful cake. The recipe calls for 2 tsp of vanilla and I used one tablespoon. I cut the sugar in half and it was still very sweet. If I had used the full amount it would have been inedible. As far as the apples go, I waited until the batter was completely mixed before preparing the apples. Otherwise they get brown. I diced 4 and shredded three. The shredded apples just disappear into the cake, and I wanted some texture so the diced bits worked out well. It also avoided that issue of the cake being too soggy. If you choose to shred all of them, drain some but not all of the juice out. Some juice is needed to moisten the batter. The smell when baking filled the house with wonderful autumn like aromas. The cake came out wonderful. I dusted it with a little confectioner's sugar and served it with vanilla ice cream on the side. In my opinion it didn't need any icing or frosting. This cake would also be great with some walnuts and raisins added to the batter if you like them. Will definitely make it again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States