Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this cake one time as written, and of course it was great - it was nothing but fat and fruit! WOW! So, knowing how many calories I could save, I made some modifications, and this is now one of my most-requested recipes. My modifications: Instead of 3 cups all-purpose flour, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups AP. I use 1.5 cups white sugar instead of the full 2 cups. I use 1 1/4 cups unsweetened applesauce in place of ALL of the oil. I use 3/4 cup of eggbeaters in place of the eggs. I increase the chopped apples to 4 cups. I omit the nuts. I make the topping as written, but serve it as a sauce on the side rather than dumping it on top. That seems like a lot of changes, but it's really a fabulous cake that CAN BE less awful for you!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I like spice in my apple cake so I added a heaping tablespoon of cinnamon. I used tart green Granny Smith apples. Make sure to mix the flour and the oil mixture well before adding apples and nuts. That should stop the problem of "crumbling" that some people are experiencing. I baked this in a 9X13 stoneware baking pan. It came out moist and stayed that way for days. I used dark brown sugar in the topping and added 1/8 tsp of salt in the glaze to make the tongue more receptive to all the flavors (a baker's trick). Be prepared to have trouble putting the fork down!! This is habit forming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Good cake, though I made some modifications. I reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added a sprinkle of nutmeg and a tsp of cinnamon. (Next time I'll add more nutmeg and cinnamon) I beat the eggs and oil together before adding them to the dry ingredients. I was sure to mix the batter thoroughly. The consistency was not dense but moist and light. Personally, I prefer a dense cake but since I was making this for co-workers I wanted the cake to be more cake-like. Most of my co-workers like fluffy cakes. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This cake is delicious. So rich, though. When I make it again I will replace the oil with apple sauce, as previous users have suggested, to cut down some on the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I have made this several times and keep forgetting to review the recipe. I really have nothing new to add except that this cake truely is wonderful! It is one of those cakes that just keep getting better and better each day. I stick pretty closely to the recipe except I do add some cinnamon. I chop some of the apples in small pieces and leave some in larger chunks. I also omit the walnuts because my DH does not like them. But definitely try this one. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Usually when I make a 9 x 13 cake some of it ends up getting thrown away - Not This One! The kids were fighting over the last piece and the husband guy loved it too! While I was mixing the batter I thought that maybe I had left out some of the ingredients as it was VERY thick (I read in the directions that it would be thick but this was thick thick!) I baked it anyway and it came out perfect! The only changes that I made were adding some cinnamon (can't have apples without cinnamon can you?) and substituted pecans for walnuts just cuz thats what I had on hand. The carmel glaze was fantastic - do not omit this step! Thanks for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was really nice. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1/4 tsp. cloves and about 1/2 tsp. fresh nutmeg. I only had one apple, which yielded about 2 cups chopped, but it was still fine. The cake has a very nice texture and the perfect sweetness; in my opinion, serving it with a glaze made it too sweet, so I'd suggest serving it without the glaze. The next time I make this (which will be soon) I'll substitute applesauce for half of the oil because the cake was VERY greasy. A lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Good moist cake. Some points: * WAY too much sugar. I cut it down to 1.25 cups and still seemed very sweet. * Reduced oil to 1 cup. * Used 2 apples and 3/4 cup applesauce. Could probably have used more. * Added: 1/2 t cinnamon, couple dashes of nutmeg, cloves, cardamon. Yum! * I baked it in a 11 x 7 in pan for close to an hour. Raised the temp to 370 for the first 40 minutes, which gave it a nice dark crust that is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
this is a wonderful cake!!! I did as suggested by a previous review and only added 3/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. The cake is still very moist and I love the consistency. The glaze is a great addition and very tasty. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
This cake is very moist and has an excellent texture. But, I minimized the amount of oil and brown sugar and it still was great! 3/4 cup of oil & 1/2 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States