Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The cake was WAY too sweet....must have with ice cream or something to cut the sugar. Maybe use applesauce instead of so much sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmaLinda
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I didn't use any oil- I used half unsweetened applesauce and half homemade apple butter instead. This cut out lots of fat and added tons of flavor. The spices from the apple butter add a delicious touch. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was a quick and easy recipe. The only change I made to the instructions was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. It was easy as can be to assemble and glaze. We ate slices while it was still warm and this is definitely the way to go. This cake is fantastic warm. However, it does not sit well. Probably due to the large amount of vegetable oil in the recipe it gets oily and greasy after sitting overnight. The leftovers were not particularly appealing. But if you're baking this to be eaten the same day, it's a slam dunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
awsome taste thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF ERIC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I'm not much of a baker, in fact this was my first "real" baking experiment (from scratch that is) and I thought I'd try making this, turns out we had guests coming and they could smell it so I served some up for them. My uncle said it reminded him of a cake he'd had in Holland years ago. I'm so proud of myself, it was actually very good. I made a few change as some reviewers suggested, 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one all purpose. I used applesauce instead of the oil and reduced the sugar on the glaze, delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This cake was amazing! I had fresh picked honeycrisp apples and I wanted to use them to make something other then the old fall stand-by,apple crisp, this recipe really delivered. We had my fiance's parents over for his "last" dinner ( he was deployed on 10/01) so I wanted to make a really special dessert that he'd love. I thought at first that I made too much glaze, but it was just the right amount. This recipe is a keeper!! The cake only made it 2 days, we had it for breakfast it was that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe! This was the 1st made from scratch cake I've ever tried, can't believe it was so easy & really didn't take that long. I did have on hand some bananas that needed to be ate (3) so I added those. As for the glaze, I didn't have but the 1/4 cp of brown sugar-so I mixed cinnimon sugar & reg. sugar to make up for the other cp. Not bad for a 1st time try-thank you for the inspiration!!-my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I added applesauce also instead of oil and cinnamom and a lil bit of pimkin spice---I agree the glaze is very sweet --cut down on the sugar--but this was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hencye Frost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Awesome! I took the suggestions of others and only used 3/4 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce - this worked fine. I used a combo of granny smith and macintosh apples and added about 1 t. of cinnamon on top. I poked fork holes in the cake and added the warm glaze to the top so that some of the glaze seeped into the cake. The glaze really is what sets this cake apart from others. Good enough to serve for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Delicious! Added cinammon, scant less sugar and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States