Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was very very delicious!! I made it for Christmas and used some of the changes others had noted. I only used 1 1/2 c. sugar and halved the oil by using 3/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. applesauce. Absolutely use the sauce!! That is a must. It is a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This cake is just OK. I have tried a couple of the apple cake recipes and have been disappointed and I think it is me. I want my apples in a pie. I wanted to rate this according to the way I felt about it but try it if you like your apples in a cake, you probably won't be disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This cake was sooooo good! my family loved it! it was so easy to make. i will definaltly keep this one. Thanks Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake was awesome. I did add a tsp of cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg to enhance the flavor a bit. I used about half of the glaze on top of the cake. It was very moist and I would definately make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Delicious..I followed the recipe exactly. The only complaint I have is that it didn't look very presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I thought it would never happen... but it did... This is the first recipe that I've tried from this site that was bad. VERY, VERY greasy. Topping is too sweet for the flavours (or lack thereof) of the cake. I should have listened to my instincts when I realized that the only liquid in the cake came from the oil. This is the first (and hopefully last) disaster that I've created from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I was so dissapointed in the topping for this cake. It was watery and made my cake kinda soggy. Everyone ate it and enjoyed it with icecream, but they didn't know that I poured a whole stick of melted butter on top! I think that this cake is worthy of trying again, with a streusel-like topping. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the cake, and an extra 1/2 cup of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great cake, but eat it fast as it doesn't keep well for more than a day or two. I followed the recipe as written, but only used about half of the topping and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe verbatim- soo good! Wow, such a moist cake, and the glaze! My god it disappeared in a flash. **Off topic, but I didn't bother reading as many reviews as I usually do because everyone gave tips on cutting the calories by replacing this with that. This is a recipe for a CAKE. Just make it as written, and share it with 9 people so you don't eat the whole thing yourself. ;)** Thanks Deb~ this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
To die for! The first time I made it I followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time I used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil to cut back the fat and added two teaspoons of cinnamon. It was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States