Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried this recipe today and it turned out to be very good. The only problem I had was that it was too sweet for my liking. I only put in 1 cup of white sugar, had I put in 2, I'm not sure I could have eaten as much. Also, instead of oil, I put in some apple sauce because I had some on hand that I wanted to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckwheat428

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Everyone loved this. Followed suggestions including substituting 1/2 c. applesauce for some of the oil, adding 1 T cinnamon to the batter and tossing the apples with some cinnamon and nutmeg before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Im confused on the high rating, absolutely too sweet and soggy for my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This cake...well takes the cake! Of course, I can never leave a recipe alone...so I decided to I used 2 large honeycrisp apples, and added 1 tsp cinnamon, as well as a jigger of rum. For the glaze, I also added a half jigger of rum and an 1/8 tsp cornstarch. :-) Fun recipe to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie
Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
OH WOW!! This is amazing. I did the recipie for 12 but with the topping for 24 because I have a couple sweet tooth in the house and this was a hit. It's an amazing cake!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is so yummy! The only change I made was to add 1 tablespoon of cinnamon to the batter. Don't worry about how thick the batter is...Just follow the recipe and you won't be sorry! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Oh my gosh, this tasted fabulous cold! I made this "as-is" so I could know if I wanted to make any changes, but it doesn't need changing. So far today I've received rave reviews from co-workers. Next time I might add cinnamon just because, but I really like it just like this. The glaze or topping gives a hint of caramel apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was really excellent. I used 4 smallish Braeburn (tart) apples. Added 1/4 cup buttermilk as per one reviewer, and substituted half the white flour with w/wheat flour. Used half brown sugar and added 3/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts. It fitted into two 4"x8" pans, and took about 50 minutes to bake. It was simple to prepare, taking only a few minutes. I grated the apples. I gave it 5 stars because it's an easy and delicious recipe. It doesn't need a topping as a breakfast loaf. Because I didn't have two loaf pans, I made a tray of small muffins with the remaining mixture, topping them with demerara sugar. Baked them for 25 minutes. Just as good as the loaf. All demolished in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Yummy! I was taking this to a gathering that included a couple of people with nut allergies, so I substituted craisins (dried cranberries) for the walnuts. I also added some cinnamon (didn't measure, just threw it in). It was delicious! I'll definitely be making this again since it's super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AzhiaShalott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I really wanted to like this cake. It baked up nicely, looked good, but the cake itself was surprisingly bland to me. The glaze did not help, the recipe made too much and ended up making the cake a sodden, way too sweet mess. I'll keep looking for that perfect apple cake recipe, unfortunately this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States