Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this cake one time as written, and of course it was great - it was nothing but fat and fruit! WOW! So, knowing how many calories I could save, I made some modifications, and this is now one of my most-requested recipes. My modifications: Instead of 3 cups all-purpose flour, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups AP. I use 1.5 cups white sugar instead of the full 2 cups. I use 1 1/4 cups unsweetened applesauce in place of ALL of the oil. I use 3/4 cup of eggbeaters in place of the eggs. I increase the chopped apples to 4 cups. I omit the nuts. I make the topping as written, but serve it as a sauce on the side rather than dumping it on top. That seems like a lot of changes, but it's really a fabulous cake that CAN BE less awful for you!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was an excellent cake. My guests loved it. I did not add the walnuts as I did not have any on hand and it was fine. I also added some cinnamon to the batter and sprinkled some on top of the cake before baking to add color. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Yum! I made this cake for my husband's birthday and he said it's his new favorite cake. Looking at the modifications others had made, I changed the recipe a bit. I added 2 scant cups of sugar, probably 1 3/4 cups, decreased the oil to 1 c. olive oil (in the baked cake the olive flavor was not noticeable), and whole and crushed toasted pecans instead of walnuts. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg, probably 1 tablespoon and 3/4 teaspoon respectively. I whisked the wet ingredients together before adding them to the dry ingredients in the mixer bowl. The batter was the consistency of a quick bread batter. I used a greased and floured bundt pan instead of a 9x13 pan and had no problems removing the cake from the pan. I did have to bake the cake longer due to the bundt pan, a total of 70 minutes. The glaze recipe does make a whole lot of topping, but my husband loves caramel and we spooned the pooled caramel from the plate over our slices. We really enjoyed this cake and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This cake is fantastic! Especially warm with alittle extra of the carmal sauce poured over....... yummmmmmm!!! I did use applesauce instead of the oil, you don't miss it at all in this one. I left out the nuts, so I added a bit more chopped apples. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Awesome! my boys love it. i modified it a lil to make it a bit more healthy but its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Light and fluffy for a thick batter. Baked with crumble and walnuts on top in a 20 x 20cm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made this to rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
The cake is delicious, but I would decrease the amount of oil to 3/4 or 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
we loved the recipe. i added extra apples because we didnt have walnuts and followed suggestions from other reviewers. I used 3/4 cup oil with 1/2 apple sauce. Combined the beaten egg, oil and apple sauce before mixing it with the dry ingredients. added 1 tsp of nutmeg and 2 tsp of cinnamon. and it turned out great. now everyone wants the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe! I used 1/2 of applesausce & 3/4 cup of oil, and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon & 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. I've made this once for family and once for work; it is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States