Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Moist and delicious!! I made it without nuts (due to allergies) and added more apples. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Loved this cake! Took it to work and the whole thing was gone by lunch. Also received many requests to make again! I used freshly picked apples (about 6 small) and substituted 1/2 cup of the oil for some homemade cinnamon apple sauce I had at my house. I also added 1 extra tsp of cinnamon. The result was a super moist and flavor filled treat. I am going to try tonight to make into apple muffins. Will update if they turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is a fall favorite in our home! I did make a few adjustments...I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg. I also use a variety of apples. My kids absolutely love this apple cake! A favorite after visiting the apple orchard in the fall! Very yummy...will make this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Exceptional Cake. I did not pour the sauce over the entire cake, I let my guests add the sauce, so they could have as much or as little as they liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay L Bastian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Tried this recipe several days ago and has now become my family's favorite cake. Only had 1tsp. of vanilla but added cinnamon for more flavor and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good! I made several changes based on my tastes and what I had in my cupboards but I'm sure it's just perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This cake was awesome! Everyone couldn't stop eating it. I only used two eggs (not by choice, I just ran out of eggs) and a little less sugar and it was still great. Next time though I might make a little less glaze because it was incredibly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is the first review I've done for allrecipes, but this cake was too good! I cooked this for my family, and they were crazy for it! In fact, half of it was gone the first day! Fresh apples really make the difference. I followed the recipe, didn't make any adjustments and it tasted Outrageous! I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was pretty good, but I think it could of been a tad bit better. The edges of the cake had soaked up the "sauce" that was poured over it, but the middle pieces just had a slight glaze on top of them. Next time, I plan to poke holes in the top of the cake, before pouring on the sauce. That way the every piece will have that wonderful carmel sauce in it. I also added cinnamon, fresh nutmeg, and raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS.......I am an avid baker. Most recipes with apples call for cinnamon, I was pleased to find one that didn't.I really like the taste of the fruit to come through. Saying this, the only change I made was for my taste (1/2 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp sherry) insted of 2 tsp vanilla. The topping was perfect. this one will go in my little wooden recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States