Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wonderful cake! Would definitely make this again. I did tweek it a little to make it a bit more healthy. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda Blend in place of the cup of white sugar. I also replaced all the amount of oil with applesauce. I then took another reviewers advice and added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. The cake turned out great, very moist and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was really good. I was out of oil so I used 1 C mayonnaise (which I like to do in cakes anyway)and 1/4 C applesauce. It turned out really good! I will be making this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The whole family loved this! I changed the all purpose flour to 1c and added 2c. whole wheat flour. Also, I cut the oil back to 1/2c. and added 1c. cinnamon applesauce. It was more like a coffee cake, so basically it's good anytime of day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful cake!! I have 3 picky eaters and they all loved it!! I did a few changes though, I used 1 cup applesauce and only 1/4 cup of oil, and I used 1 cup wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I also added a good sprinkle cinnamon. I also added a little vanilla to the glaze. It was wonderful! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is overall a good recipe and the dough as a yummy flavor however the 2nd time i made it i substitued applesauce for the oil and added some cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg to the recipe and it came out very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
OMG THIS IS THE BEST. I made a few modification per other reviews and this cake was delish. Had guest for dinner and this was desert. Everyone had to have 2nds. I modified the recipe by using only applesauce no oil, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. The perfect cake everyone wants me to make it again. Thanks for such a great dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very yummy and rich. Served well with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This cake is wonderful! Normally I would have never made a cake like this, but I'm glad I did. I didn't make any changes to the cake itself, but I did add nutmeg, cinnamon and some ground clove to the sauce. I is just delicious!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Fisher
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is very good although I did make several changes. I think with my modifications the only thing I will do differently next time is add some spices. The flavor made as written is pretty plain. Really needs some cinnamon and probably some nutmeg. Great base though, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used 1cp of wheat flour and two cps of all purpose flour. For the glaze I changed it to 1/4 of a cup because it tasted too much like butter when I made I made it the first time. My husband actually ate it and he doesn't like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States