Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was really good. I was out of oil so I used 1 C mayonnaise (which I like to do in cakes anyway)and 1/4 C applesauce. It turned out really good! I will be making this many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The whole family loved this! I changed the all purpose flour to 1c and added 2c. whole wheat flour. Also, I cut the oil back to 1/2c. and added 1c. cinnamon applesauce. It was more like a coffee cake, so basically it's good anytime of day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful cake!! I have 3 picky eaters and they all loved it!! I did a few changes though, I used 1 cup applesauce and only 1/4 cup of oil, and I used 1 cup wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I also added a good sprinkle cinnamon. I also added a little vanilla to the glaze. It was wonderful! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is overall a good recipe and the dough as a yummy flavor however the 2nd time i made it i substitued applesauce for the oil and added some cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg to the recipe and it came out very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
OMG THIS IS THE BEST. I made a few modification per other reviews and this cake was delish. Had guest for dinner and this was desert. Everyone had to have 2nds. I modified the recipe by using only applesauce no oil, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. The perfect cake everyone wants me to make it again. Thanks for such a great dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very yummy and rich. Served well with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This cake is wonderful! Normally I would have never made a cake like this, but I'm glad I did. I didn't make any changes to the cake itself, but I did add nutmeg, cinnamon and some ground clove to the sauce. I is just delicious!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Fisher
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is very good although I did make several changes. I think with my modifications the only thing I will do differently next time is add some spices. The flavor made as written is pretty plain. Really needs some cinnamon and probably some nutmeg. Great base though, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used 1cp of wheat flour and two cps of all purpose flour. For the glaze I changed it to 1/4 of a cup because it tasted too much like butter when I made I made it the first time. My husband actually ate it and he doesn't like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Like most of the reviews say about this cake..."it's AWESOME."...I used 1 1/2 cups of white sugar...1/4 cup of oil and a full cup of unsweetened applesauce. Also added l teaspoon of cinnamon and one teaspoon of nutmeg. That was the extent of my changes to this recipe except I used 4 large Granny Smith apples and chopped them up in small pieces...This apple cake has got to be one of the BEST recipes ever...Thanks so much for sharing it..Sooooooooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States