Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
The glaze is much too sweet. I should have followed the other reviewers suggestion and cut down on the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Made this cake yesterday & adjusted the sugar amt. as per reviews. Cake is a winner. The glaze was wonderful. But...besides adding cinnamon, next time I will add raisins & chopped dates. This cake is party worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake was so easy to make and turned out excellent. I am using a toaster oven so I couldn't fit the pan size required in. However, I had enough batter to make 3 smaller cakes. I froze 2 of them. I will be making this again and again. Good for unexpected company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this last night and it was so good, I can't wait to have another piece tonight. Like others I used 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup of oil to cut down on the fat. I also added 1 tbsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was an oily and tasteless cake. I was so looking forward to it. very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
nothing special and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
The cake itself is delicious. I subbed out a cup of the oil with applesauce and reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I thought the cake this way was not overly greasy nor overly sweet - very good. I wish I had left off the "glaze." It never hardened on the cake - it's more of a sauce and so super sweet! I had to throw away all the borders of the cake where the sauce soaked into the cake and ruined it. My rating is for the cake only. Very good with the substitutions noted. As for the "glaze", unless you like your cake SUPER sweet, I suggest a light dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is solid, but I can't say it was great. I added extra apples, some cinamon, substituted some whole wheat flour and applesauce for the oil. Everyone at work "liked" it but didn't "love" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very good cake. I did follow the advice of others and decreased the oil to 3/4c. and added 1/2c.of chuncky applesauce, all I had in the pantry. Also cut back on the sugar to 1 1/2c. Turned out pretty good, very moist, but it is missing something, I think I may try adding 1 tsp. of nutmeg and also cinnammon next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wonderful cake! Would definitely make this again. I did tweek it a little to make it a bit more healthy. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda Blend in place of the cup of white sugar. I also replaced all the amount of oil with applesauce. I then took another reviewers advice and added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. The cake turned out great, very moist and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States