Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious and easy apple cake! Few changes: instead of walnuts I used shaved almonds and raisins. Also I added some milk in the batter, put less salt (1/2 tsp), more baking soda (1 1/2 tsp) and added 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Spices: 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 1/2 cardemon. About 1 hour at 160 degrees Celsius. The glaze is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
One bite is all I could take. My 10 year old niece said the garbage would be the best place for it. Too sweet, and you don't get that apple and cinamon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very very good my family loved it. This is a keeper. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Shultz
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Not a hit at my house. One of my kids liked it, but that's it. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I think this was a very good recipe,and even though it was probably more than I could have eaten my whole family loved it as well! seeing as comments to changing some things around....I really don't understand if you feel like its too fattening or that its too sweet, its what the recipe calls for! But overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This cake is awesome! Just a small piece with a scoop of vanilla ice cream is satisfying. A company's coming recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I didn't use walnuts, 'cause I don't like them, and added half a tsp. cinnamon and nutmeg each. Perfection!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I usually love sweets but this one is way too sweet. All I can taste is the sugar. It hurt my teeth and gave my a stomach ache. The cake is also heavy like a pound cake and not light. Sorry I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a great cake! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added 2 tsp. cinn. That's it. The 1st day, it WAS a little oily, but after that, it kept the cake quite moist; it didn't become a dry cake. Next time, I'll try suggestions of applesauce/oil, but if I don't have applesauce on hand, I'll make it again w/just the oil. The icing is AWESOME!! Everyone I shared this cake with commented on how delicious the icing was. I would not make it w/out doing the icing because it gives it that special, unique, homemade touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This cake was delicious and easy to make. I served it at a dinner party this past week and my friends loved it. Plus, I only had to purchase the apples and walnuts. This is a great recipe if you're on a limited budget and a tight schedule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States