Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This cake was a huge hit with my friends. I did try and add more apple than it called for and made the cake very crumbly. Stick with the amount it calls for and cut them in nice small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was really delicious & rich, I served it at a baby shower and got asked for the recipe a couple times. Like others suggested I spiced it up by adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time I make this I would do as others suggested and decrease the amount of oil and add applesauce it was a little to greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I thought this cake was very sweet but the men loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYGIRL30S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This cake was wonderful!!! Extremely moist! The only apple cake I will be making from now on..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake is divine. Perhaps too sweet, but can you fault a dessert for that? Next time I will do everything the same except cut the glaze in half (at least).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I thought this recipe was ok, but somewhat bland. I used most of the recommendations of other reviewers, including substituting apple sauce for much of the oil and adding 2 tsp. of apple pie spice. I think that must have helped- I can't imagine how bland it would be without the apple pie spice (or the other spices recommended). I'll probably keep looking for an apple cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Don't overbake the cake. It will dry out. I didn't really like the sauce that goes ontop of the cake. After it cooled I felt like there was just a layer of grease laying on top. I put it on when it was hot, but it didn't melt into the cake. The cake itself is very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was pretty good, but seemed like it was missing something. I served the sauce on the side and thought that was a much better idea. It worked out into being an easy last minute dessert because I had all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This recipe won me first prize in our office's apple bake off! of course I didn't use nuts, and I altered the oil with apple sauce to cut a few of the calories off. And i used the dark brown sugar for the topping. People actually tasted this cake and moaned a little. You won't be disappointed by it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
AWESOME! Extremely moist and flavorful. Took to some friends house for game night. There were only six of us there and the entire cake was polished off that night! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States