Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Everyone who tried this loved it! I left out the nuts, and I thought it might be too much oil, so I just put in the one cup of oil and put in milk for the other 1/4 cup of oil. It turned out great! Thanks for submitting this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have to start off saying this is the first time making an apple cake. I followed the directions with a few substitutions as suggested by some reviewers. I used 3 large apples which equaled about 3 1/2 cups. I used half the oil and about 1/2 cup of applesauce. I mixed the oil and eggs well before adding the apples and I opted out on the nuts. The cake batter was dense, not too oily or sweet for me or my kids taste. However, the cake batter did taste a little too much like the baking soda and I know I only used 1 TSP. I forgot to add some cinnamon and other spices to the batter so added it to the topping. I also poked holes in the cake and slowly added all of the topping mixture to give the cake time to absorb it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef4five

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I had apple cake baked for a hundred at a big barbeque and looked for a recipe for quite a while. This was delicious and I've baked it twice already. The second time I cut some of the oil and sugar, substituted 1/3 whole wheat flour and added some wheat germ, and it was just as good and healthier. This will be a big favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I really didn't like this recipe. I usually love any desserts but I couldn't even finish my piece of this cake. It was way too sugary and really greasy. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisner, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The people at work couldn't get enough! It was a little dense for my taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Excellent, nice and sweet. I did use all of the glaze, waiting 15 minutes before pouring the other half on. I added slivered almonds instead of walnuts and 1/2 sultana raisins. I did use cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this for a brunch, and it was a big hit! I added about a tablespoon of cinnamon just to give it a little kick, and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe ranks as one of my favorites. I do make many of the changes listed below: replace all of the oil with natural applesauce, use 1c whole wheat flour and 2c white flour, use 1c brown sugar and 1/2c white sugar, increase the amount of apples to 4-4.5c, add a heaping of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, and I reduce the topping to 3tbs butter, 1/3c skim milk and 1c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I took this dessert to a dinner party tonight and it was a hit! Based on notes in previous reviews, I made the following modifications: used only 1 C oil, 1.5 C sugar, and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves. I made the caramel glaze topping but there was way too much of it. I only drizzled about 1/3 of the sauce over the top of the cake. Followed the suggestion of a prior reviewer to blend flour mix & oil/eggs well before adding apples & walnuts, and the cake was perfectly moist, not too crumbly at all! It was sweet but not too sweet for our tastes. Everyone loved this and said that from now on this is what they want when I'm in charge of dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My best advice? Double the sauce! Don't put it ALL on the cake, save some to drizzle over each piece. I didn't use any fat in the cake, I used only 1 1/2 c sugar (instead of 2), 1 1/4 c unsweet applesauce (instead of oil) and 3/4 c egg beaters (instead of eggs). I used 4 c chopped granny smith apples and added tsp allspice and tbsp cinnamon. For the sauce I used my tub margarine (only 6 gm fat per tbsp) and it worked fine! This was one of the best desserts I have ever made. It's REALLY good warm and if you run out of sauce, use ice cream or frozen yogurt, YUUUUMMY!!! I think the fact that it was made lower fat made it taste EVEN better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States