Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Mmmmmm...very good. This is a very dense cake, similar to the density of a muffin. Like other reviewers, I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon allspice, 1/8 teaspoon cloves. I whisked the egg, oil, and vanilla together before I added it to the dry ingredients. I baked it for 45 minutes but I think that might've been a bit too long as it seemed a little dry from overcooking. I didn't make the topping and served it with whipped cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a very rich cake and oh so good!!! Left it out on the counter and everytime we walked by had another bite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My neighbor just gave me this recipe except using pears instead of apples. It's great but next time I'll add some cinnamon and maybe ginger. It is greasey so will probably sub apple sauce for some of the oil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
very quick & easy recipe for visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hind

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I just made this a little while ago! and it's great! Very tad on the sweet side,I didn't put the walnuts in but it's still great. The sweetness is STRONG but not over-powering,just almost,well,with so much regular sugar and brown sugar for the glaze,no wonder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
excellent........everyone loves it, I added cinnamon, otherwise just wonderful the way it is. Thanks for posting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great cake -- people at work loved it. Based on reviews, I did replace the oil with unsweetened applesauce; used 1 c brown sugar & 1/2 c white instead of all white; added 1 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (probably could've added a touch more). All in all, very easy to mix up and tasted great. I also didn't skimp on the sauce -- made up and poured on all of it. Honestly, the best part! Next time, I might try only putting half on to absorb then giving it time to get just barely warm before pouring on the rest -- the top did have a gooey appearance and maybe having a cooled layer of sauce on top would help. But, I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made the substitutions suggested by Tulips N Truffles, and the recipe came out great! I would definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Everyone who tried this loved it! I left out the nuts, and I thought it might be too much oil, so I just put in the one cup of oil and put in milk for the other 1/4 cup of oil. It turned out great! Thanks for submitting this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have to start off saying this is the first time making an apple cake. I followed the directions with a few substitutions as suggested by some reviewers. I used 3 large apples which equaled about 3 1/2 cups. I used half the oil and about 1/2 cup of applesauce. I mixed the oil and eggs well before adding the apples and I opted out on the nuts. The cake batter was dense, not too oily or sweet for me or my kids taste. However, the cake batter did taste a little too much like the baking soda and I know I only used 1 TSP. I forgot to add some cinnamon and other spices to the batter so added it to the topping. I also poked holes in the cake and slowly added all of the topping mixture to give the cake time to absorb it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef4five

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States