Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We really enjoyed this moist cake. I followed these tips left by previous reviewers: 2 cans of pie filling, 1 apple peeled and chopped (really liked that!), cut walnuts and brown sugar back to half a cup each, and heaped in the cinnamon in the batter and topping. I will probaby use pecans instead of walnuts next time - and there definitely will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was such a quick and easy cake! I made it as written except for the topping! instead of the crumb topping, I made a caramel drizzle by melting some caramel candies in the micro with a little milk. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a very good cake. I made no changes and it was still all gone after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Simple and awesome. I used 2 cans of apple pie filling, cut into smaller pieces. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have been using this recipe for 3-4 years now and follow it exactly except I omit the nuts because we are not fans of nuts. I usually make it for breakfast on Thanksgiving and Easter. I throw the topping together the night before and then just quickly put the mix, apples and eggs together that morning, sprinkle the topping on it, and pop it in the oven. I love that there are hardly any dishes to clean with this recipe and I don't need to pull out my hand mixer, I just stir it together. My husband and I love this cake with whipped topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
After reading some of the reviews, I tweaked this recipe a bit. I added vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I also added nutmeg to the brown sugar topping. I cut the brown sugar down as I did the nuts (only because I didn't have a full cup on hand.) Peach filling would work well as would a spice cake mix-as other reviews mention. Pecans would be lovely as well. I love nuts. I think next time I would add them to the batter too. I can see why other reviews mention adding more pie filling. It would be nice to have more apple in each bite. This was an easy recipe to make gluten free. Now that gluten free cake mixes are widely available and it only calls for an extra tablespoon of all-purpose flour, substituting a gluten free flour is no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love this recipe! I have been making it for friends for years! I always cut up the apples so you don't get big chunks, it also makes the cake a little lighter and more airy, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Next time I will use my own apple pie filling recipe and cube the apple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
A pretty coffee cake, certainly quick and easy to mix up, with a moist, light and fluffy crumb. Gratefully, it also has a fairly non-existent cake mix taste. I find that to be the case when I use a French Vanilla cake mix when a yellow cake mix is called for. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. It’s a nice cake I would have no problems making again, but I‘d tinker with it. The fruit flavor is fairly delicate and what little there is drowned out by too much nuts, probably twice as much as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe "as is"! I used cooking spray on a glass baking dish, and did not need to flour the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States