Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this at least a dozen times for my work and it is gone in seconds. Real easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocdmom66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I just tried this recipe today. I didn't add walnuts because I truly dislike them. I substituted raisins and used carrot cake mix instead of yellow. It came out very moist. It was great minutes out of the oven.I will definitely make this again. I also wanted to try a chocolate version with cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this for my sisters and they absolutely loved it! I used a white cake mix instead of the yellow. I don't like yellow cake, it's too dry. I also make a simple powder sugar frosting, very thin, and drizzled it on top after it was completely cooled. What a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
After reading some of the prior reviews, I opted to use the spice cake mix and 1-3/4 cans of apple pie filling. I am glad I did. This cake had great flavor and was very moist. It is a very simple and quick recipe and easy to make. I will definitely will be making this cake again, as everyone in my house enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I didn't have canned apple pie filling so i used my homemade chunky applesauce, added sliced (2) cortland apples and added a teaspoon of cinnamon sugar. Followed the rest of the recipie. MMmmm! We had small scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side of the warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Excellent! So easy and the results are wonderful. Very moist and flavorful. I used 2 cans of apple filling and it was perfect. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is what I did for what I had here. **Cake** 1 sugar free yellow cake mix made the way it instructs because I only had (29oz) canned apple (pitched the light syrup in it) cut the apples in bite size pieces. **Topping** 1/4c + 1/8c sugar, 1/4c + 1/8c splenda. 1T whole white flour. 4T butter. 1T cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg. I poured half the batter in prepared pan, sprinkled half the cinnamon/sugar/pecan mixture in the middle. Then sprinkled the rest on top. Is baking at this moment. **Next time I'll add the cinnamon/nutmeg right to the cake, it'll be evenly distributed through out the cake instead of concentrated parts throughout the crunch. Um yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I love finding recipes that are easy, delicious and gorgiving. This one is all 3 - and can be healthy too! This made up nicely with a gluten free cake mix (Betty Crocker, 2 egg whites, (21 ounce) can sugar free apple pie filling and omitted sugar, flour, butter and walnuts. The cinnamon was sprinkled lightly over the top. Mix and bake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake is so easy and excellent!!! We could hardly wait for the cake to cool to eat it! Thinking of pot lucks and places I can make this cake for! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathrynThomson
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
The initial recipe was VERY Sweet. Since I canned my own Apple Pie Filling last Fall.... I used a Quart of this. Many of the reviews suggested using 2 cans of Apple Pie Filling.... so I used a Quart. Since that was the size I had. :) I also would not recommend using so much brown sugar. I used the 3/4 cup as suggested in the recipe, and changed the amount to 1/2 cup below.... but I would maybe even suggest using less then that... maybe 1/4 cup. It was VERY sweet. I also melted caramels for the top. Enjoy!!! Ingredients 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour 2 tablespoons butter, soft but not melted 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1 cup chopped walnuts 1 package Betty Crocker Super Moist Yellow Cake Mix 3 eggs 1 Quart Apple Pie Filling Approx 12 pieces of Brachs Caramels 1 TB Water I like to make some ridges in the top of the batter and have groves of the crumb topping sink in. I use a rubber spatula and make a small indent, add a tablespoon or two of filling... and randomly do this across the top of the cake. Then I sprinkle the remaining topping evenly over the top. Unwrap the caramels and place in a small glass microwavable bowl. Add about a TB water. (you can even use 2 TB) Microwave on high for about a minute. It will start to boil and foam up the sides, so watch carefully. Using a small wire whisk or fork, mix the contents vigorously for about 1 minute until smooth.. drizzle over top of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States