Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
YUMMY!!! This cake was so good. I typically don't give too many recipes 5 stars. But this one was a home run. It was super easy, so easy that I was sceptical. I used cherry pie filling because that is all that I had. It was so moist and the streusel was crunchy and buttery (I used about 3 tablespoons). Since I was using cherry pie filling, I used slivered almonds in the topping. I think it was a great choice. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants a tasty and super easy fruit coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Cervene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was wonderful! Very much like a coffee cake. My family gobbled it up in practically one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers by cutting up the apple, adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the cake mix and 1/2 tsp to the topping. It was good and moist. Next time I'll add 1 tsp each in the cake mix and topping. Definitely put pecans in the topping. Most of my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was a great quick cake! I read other reviews that the cake came out dry. So, instead of adding more pie filling (I only had 1 can), I added 1 tbsp of veg. oil and about 1/4 cup of sour cream to the cake batter. Then I followed the recipe from there. This tasted very good and was super moist. Also, it was just as good or even better the next day warmed up. I thought the apples were a little mushy for my liking, but that could be the brand I used. Overall, great, quick reciped when you want a yummy warm dessert in not a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Loved this recipe it is just great. Also tried it with a Spice Cake and it was also the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe was a hit at a church function!!! It was so easy too! I did change some things via the previous reviews; Used spice cake mix, added 1 tsp cinnamon, used 1 can of apple (while still in can used knife to cut up into smaller pieces) and then added one fresh apple cut up. For topping, used 1/2 C of brown sugar and more butter and flour to make a crumbier topping. One time I did add oats in place of nuts and that turned out great too! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I first made this recipe using a spice cake mix and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I used just the one can of apple pie filling (sugar free) and cut them up as suggested. It was wonderful! Even better the next day. I am now baking one using a reduced sugar cake mix, sugar free pie filling and Splenda brown sugar for the topping. Can't wait to surprise my diabetic friend with it. It may not be totally sugar free, but he will be able to enjoy at least a small piece and maybe freeze a couple more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
We have made this for several gatherings and it gets accolades every time. We add one peeled, cored, diced granny smith apple to the batter. We also dice the apple pie filling. Cinnamon is added to the batter. We usually have to cook a little longer than 40 minutes when we use the metal 13 x 9 baking pan or bundt pan. If you use a bundt pan and don't want an upside down cake, remember to put the topping in first, then the batter. Oh, and we use pecans, not walnuts. It is better to us when it's cold, so we refrigerate it after it cools and eat it with our coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MY2QTPEYES
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Very simple. I followed recipe except I didn't have any nuts and I cut up the apples in the pie filling and added tsp. of cinnamon to the batter. Served warm w/ a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Kids & husband thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I got rave reviews for this quick-to-make cake! I found that one can of filling was sufficient. I'm not normally a fan of "cake mix" cakes but this was a useful and tasty timesaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States