Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Disappointed.....Made the recipe according to instructions and the time frame to bake (and yes my oven is calibrated correctly) is stated as 35-40 min...... I pulled the rack out a little for the toothpick test and the entire cake was only set about 2 inches from the edges, it fell and a lot of expensive ingredients went down the garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very good. Used spice cake, reduced brown sugar to 1/4, replaced nuts with oats. Tasted great but I could still kinda taste that boxed cake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
So easy and so good to eat. Since it was only going to be for two I modified;used a Jiffy yellow cake (9oz) mix and one egg, a dash of vanilla, nutmeg, and reduced the remaining ingredients. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for Christmas brunch and it was a HUGE hit! I did use 1 1/2 cans of apples based on other reviews and it was still fluffy. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg to both the cake and topping! I only had chopped pecans on hand, so I subbed those too! I am going to try this with cherry pie filling next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I recently made this as a cup-cake version and it turned out great. I keep getting great reviews from my co-workers whenever I bring this in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I think this recipe is easy and delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to the cake batter while mixing. If you're looking for a simple apple cake recipe then you should definitely give this a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
my step-daughter wanted an "apple cake" for her birthday, so I made this with a gluten-free vanilla cake mix (Namaste brand) and it came out very good. used two cans of pie filling and 1/2 C brown sugar. It was even better for breakfast the next morning. It took about 50 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I made this in the morning to take to work. Fast and easy, it baked while I was getting ready. I used a spice cake mix and added 2T oil for moisture. I used an electric mixer, there was no apple texture left but the flavor was great. The cake was still warm when I got to the office. Loved it as did my co-workers. This ones a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Delicious with a few changes. For the filling I added a teaspoon cinnamon and a 4 oz. container original apple sauce. I cut up the apples in the pie filling. The topping I increased the butter to (2) Tablespoons, added a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and a cup of instant oats instead of walnuts. Followed everything else as listed. Moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Easy and super delicious! Frost with coconut-pecan canned frosting. Make it in two square pans and freeze one. The thawed is as good as the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States