Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious!! I stuck with one can of apple pie filling and it turned out wonderfully fluffy. I cut the apples as I added them to the batter so they would be more evenly dispersed. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg,and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the cake mix batter--I love cinnamon and brown sugar flavors!! I probably could of done a little more and it still wouldnt have been over-powering. I also adjusted the topping because my hubby doesn't like nuts in his desserts. I did 1 C. packed brown sugar, 3 Tbsp softened butter, and a packet of "cinnamon roll" flavored instant oatmeal. The topping was crispy and sweet and a perfect contrast to the fluffy apple layer. (Serve this warm with ice cream!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Used chopped pecans (what I had in stock) and spice cake mix. I layered the batter with the sprinkle in between and on top. Used at a brunch today. Thanks for posting this recipe. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Quick, easy & delicious! Chopped the apples up, added 1 cup of apple sauce and pie spice. Topped off with Cinnamon Bun frosting instead of the crumble topping. Dinner guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The only change I made was to omit the nuts from the topping, so I made double of the brown sugar mix. The result was a wholesome, tasty cake that everyone enjoyed. I used my homemade apple pie mix and homemade yellow cake mix made with half wholemeal flour. Since then, I have made it again with lightly cooked plums and it was very tasty. I recommend this for a quick, old-fashioned treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Just made it. I used classic white pillsbury moist supreme cake mix. I used 1 can of pie filling. I did not use nuts. This is great for dessert at home, bring to work or special events. I had whip cream instead of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I read all the reviews that say to increase the apple pie filling or even double it, but decided to make it with just ONE can and it turned out PERFECT!!! The cake was moist and delicious! My vote: ONE CAN! ..just as the recipe says. I did, however, cut some of the apples up just a little bit so they weren't such big chunks. Everyone absolutely loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
easy peasy tastes like a coffee cake type of cake....moist...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Disappointed.....Made the recipe according to instructions and the time frame to bake (and yes my oven is calibrated correctly) is stated as 35-40 min...... I pulled the rack out a little for the toothpick test and the entire cake was only set about 2 inches from the edges, it fell and a lot of expensive ingredients went down the garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very good. Used spice cake, reduced brown sugar to 1/4, replaced nuts with oats. Tasted great but I could still kinda taste that boxed cake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
So easy and so good to eat. Since it was only going to be for two I modified;used a Jiffy yellow cake (9oz) mix and one egg, a dash of vanilla, nutmeg, and reduced the remaining ingredients. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States