Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Excellent bread--even pleased the very fussy eaters. Freezes well. However, I make some modifications. Reduced oil to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Reduced sugar to 1-1/2 cups. Added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I used granny smith apples, peeled and sliced, which added just a little tartness, but any cooking apple would be great this recipe. When cooled, sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
My fiance LOVED this cake. I ran out of white sugar so I used a 1/2 cup of brown which gave it an excellent taste. We just couldn't get enough of it. Wonderful recipe! A little bit time consuming peeling and dicing the apples but it is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is a REALLY delicious apple cake! I peeled the apples quickly w/ my Starfrit Apple Peeler. I cut back on the oil (maybe like 3/4 cup) and a little less sugar. As I was mixing, the batter was dry so I added milk. I added milk until the consistency was 'cake-batter-ish). I baked for 20 minutes then added a streusel topping I made (1/4 C Sugar, 1/4 C Flour, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 3 tbsp of butter). Baked for another 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. It's wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This was a great cake! I had to keep checking the recipe, because it didn't quite look right (a lot of apples!), but it turned out great and didn't last a day in my house. I added brown sugar, then served it with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This is a fantastic apple cake. I took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Easy to make! Great with a fresh cup of coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
The first time I made it, it was gone before I knew it.Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I made this one afternoon in the community kitchen of our dorm. It was gone before it even had a chance to cool! Very good, especially as a coffee companion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I love this recipe. It is so easy and so delicious. It melts in your mouth. Everytime I make it, my family eats just about the whole cake in one sitting. They love it as much as I do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This was awesome and very easy to make.Directions were easy to read and understand.Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States