Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is almost exactly how Grandma taught me to make Apple Cake when I was a kid. Grandma uses butter instead of vegetable oil and she always adds a teaspoon of baking powder, nutmeg and cloves. This is comfort food for me. I make a lighter version now with applesauce in place of half the butter, whole wheat flour, and organic apples. GREAT with ice cream or frozen yogurt melting over slices of the warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Awesome cake!!! I do cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and the oil to 3/4. I also add a cup of chopped walnuts to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
sooooo good ,my daycare loved it!!!!only thing i changed was 1 cup brown/1 cup white suger...and i added a little less of each ,not to the top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made it tonight, and I think it needs more flavor. Maybe mixing the apples in a cinnamon/sugar mixture before adding to the batter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Excellent, moist cake. I made this on the weekend and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe as written but baked in bundt pan instead of 9x13. Sprinkled with icing sugar after cooled. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Used 1 cup brown suger and 1 cup white suger. Only used half the oil and added some 2% milk, just over 1/3 cup. Threw in some toasted nuts since I had them on hand. I used 3-1/2 jazz apples. It took much longer than 35 minutes to cook, I let it bake 55 minutes but probably could have left it another 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am absolutely sure this recipe would be delicious as written. Since I'm pregnany however, I made a few small modifications to 'healthify' it a tad and it was still wonderful. I cut the sugar back by a half cup, using a blend of 1c white and 1/2c brown. I used 1c whole wheat flour with 1c white flour. Fibre is my friend these days. And I reduced the oil to 2/3c, adding in 1/2c plain yogurt. This makes a moist, yummy, perfect cake. The dough seems thick and not cake like but the apples ad moisture to the batter as they bake. Oh and one last thing, my 9x13 pan had mysteriously walked away when I made this, so I used a springform pan. Had to up the baking time to 50 minutes. Cheers all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Geek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
YUM! As was suggested in the reviews, I replaced half the oil with applesauce, changed the sugar to 2/3 cup white and 2/3 cup brown, added a pinch of nutmeg, used 2 large apples, and topped it with streusel (1/4 c flour, 1/4 c sugar, 1 t cinn, 3 Tb butter) that I put on halfway through baking. I split the batter between 2 9" round pans. Perfect and YUM! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Really tasty cake, but turned out a little dry. So I added a few tsps of apple juice to the batter. Turned out not bad! Made it a few times already and they all turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody_xx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States