Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
An unqualified 5 stars!! (though I did follow others' suggestions and cut oil in half, made up liquid with milk, and cut sugar by 1/2 cup :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is by far the BEST fruit-type cake I've ever had! I changed one thing, and that was adding a small amount of brown sugar and cinnamon over the top so that the crust came out a little more crispy than what the original recipe called for! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I was trying to find a recipe for an apple cake, and came across this one, boy was I lucky. It automatically reminded me of my grandmother's recipe that was lost years ago. I did make some changes like some other reviewers have done, but it was so moist. My husband just loves it. It was so moist. I put confectioner's sugar on it, but it was not needed, as it was very sweet with out the sugar on top. The changes I made were I only put 1/2 cup of oil in and put 1/2 cup applesauce in. also put one cup of white sugar with 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also added allspice and nutmeg, as we like a spicier cake than some. It is a keeper in our house, and I WILL make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelphi, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Yum yum yum! This is so good, it reminds me of banana bread but with apples! But then it tastes like apple pie, but as a cake! When you first make the batter you think that there are too many apples but they get smaller as they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Tasty, but a little too "coffee-cakey" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I added chopped walnuts and raisins to mine and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Subbed applesauce for oil, 2/3 cup white sugar + 2/3 brown sugar & used 5 gala apples. Delicious! Next time will add a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mack's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is yummy! Very moist and full of flavor. It almost had too many apples in it for my taste though, so next time I may only put in 3 cups. I added 1/2 cup of hazelnuts and used 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I made them into muffins so will be having them for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
SO good! Made exactly as written. Smelled so good baking in the oven! Awesome with some vanilla ice cream when hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenae Jones Bauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good! I followed the suggestion of others and used 3/4 cup of oil and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. The batter was VERY thick like cookie dough so I added a little milk to thin it out a bit. It turned out very moist and not too sweet. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. I had to bake it a lot longer than the recipe stated approx 50 minutes. I think next time I'll bake it in a smaller pan because its a rather short cake. Its about the height of brownies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States