Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Here's the thing. The flavor... AMAZING! I'm giving it 3 stars because like some other reviewers, it would not cook. Even after 50 minutes it was still very mushy on the inside with a hard crust on the top. I think you really have to cut down the oil or something. It was more like a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe to a T . . . but unfortunately the cake came out mushy at the bottom and would not come loose from the pan. I cooled it for half an hour . . . maybe that wasn't enough? I found the end of the recipe to be vague because it didn't specify whether or not the cake was supposed to remain in the pan and for how long it was supposed to cool. I'm afraid to try this again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really, I want to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars! Like others suggested, I could have gotten away with cutting some of the sugar and substituting 1/2 the oil with unsweetened applesauce. Definitely do not skimp on the apples; they may look like a lot while you're pouring the batter in the pan, but it's absolutely the right amount when you bring it out of the oven! Partway through I realized I only had about half of what was needed of the flour left in my pantry, so I substituted 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for the other half. (And it didn't detract from the flavor at all.) Other than that, this is a delicious cake that could star as both dessert and breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
You will not be disappointed, although i did bake for 55 mins and I also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 and also added 3/4 light brown sugar i also cut the oil to 1/2 cup as many previous reviews noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
We really like this! I cut the sugar by 25% and the oil by 1/2, but replaced the missing oil w/ 1/2 C applesauce. The cake is still very moist and tender, not ridiculously sweet, perfect with a cup of coffee & a great use for all of the apples we picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Schumann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love this recipe but I do suggest either reducing the oil or replacing it with applesauce. I also like to lightly top the cake with a raspberry sauce at about 5 minutes before the cake is finished. This gives it an extra kick of tart sweetness and keeps the top moist. As it is, I give it 4 stars. With the raspberry topping and oil modifications, my family gives it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake was super good! Did what others suggested - cut down oil and used 3/4 cup. I also used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 brown sugar. Like many others, I noticed batter is super thick so I did add milk, slowly, until batter was more the consistency of cake batter. I also added a streusel topping and it was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KH622

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Yum! I added some cloves, and did half white sugar and half brown sugar. When the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it and poured caramel ice cream topping all over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Just made this cake and it turned out delicious! Best apple cake i have ever tried/made. I used 1 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it turned out great :) at the end I topped it off with just a little bit of condensed milk and some side fresh strawberries. yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My cake turned out to be perfect. As suggested by other reviewers, I reduced my oil and sugar to 1cup. I added few chopped pieces of figs for flavor. Took 40-45 mins to bake. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States