Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Didn't care for this one at all. Sorry. The taste was just missing something and the texture was not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Tasty cake! I followed other reviewers and replaced half the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar to 1 cup. I chopped the unpeeled apples in my food processor. It's best if kept in the fridge. Great item to send in the kids lunch box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this cake on Tuesday night, and it was a moist and tasty treat for the rest of the week! Rave reviews from friends and family. I didn't have enough apples, so I supplemented with some apple sauce instead, which I think contributed towards it being so moist. I ended up baking it for 65 minutes, far longer than the suggested 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybeens
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very delicious, moist, easy cake. I did add about a 1/4 cup of milk though. The batter seemed a little dry to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My family loved this. Used 1/2 c oil, 1/2 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar, and it was still a bit sweet. Next time I may omit the white sugar. Kept the skins on the apples. Also added about 1/2 tsp ground ginger. Baked at 350 for well over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very good! Husband tried real hard not to ask for a second piece. I used fresh farm apples. I didn't have any nuts on hand, but will add them the next time i make this. I will also try some golden raisins too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Used a suggestion from one of the other reviews and substituted butter for the oil and decided not to peel the apples. My family and friends want more...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I've been making this apple cake for many years and have never had it fail. For my own personal taste, I usually add an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as 1 Cup of chopped pecans or walnuts. Raisins are also a nice addition. I usually use about 1/2 cup. The dough will be very stiff and require mixing by hand with a heavy duty wooden spoon. You can use a 9 X 13 greased and floured pan or a 10-12 Cup Bundt Pan. If using a bundt pan, bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 65 minutes or until the cake tests done using a toothpick or cake tester inserted about 2 inches from the edge. Tester should come out clean (free of dough). Also, if using a bundt pan, you will have to scoop dough from bowl and pack it evenly into cake pan. This is easy to do if you wet your hands first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was easy enough for my 13 year old to put together and good enough to repeat. Top with a homemade carmel sauce with whipped creme for a fancy dessert, or dust with powdered sugar for a less sweet, delicious dessert. A very good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Be sure to put LESS oil and MORE apples and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States