Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Yum yum yum! This is so good, it reminds me of banana bread but with apples! But then it tastes like apple pie, but as a cake! When you first make the batter you think that there are too many apples but they get smaller as they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Tasty, but a little too "coffee-cakey" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I added chopped walnuts and raisins to mine and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Subbed applesauce for oil, 2/3 cup white sugar + 2/3 brown sugar & used 5 gala apples. Delicious! Next time will add a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mack's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is yummy! Very moist and full of flavor. It almost had too many apples in it for my taste though, so next time I may only put in 3 cups. I added 1/2 cup of hazelnuts and used 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I made them into muffins so will be having them for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
SO good! Made exactly as written. Smelled so good baking in the oven! Awesome with some vanilla ice cream when hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenae Jones Bauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good! I followed the suggestion of others and used 3/4 cup of oil and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. The batter was VERY thick like cookie dough so I added a little milk to thin it out a bit. It turned out very moist and not too sweet. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. I had to bake it a lot longer than the recipe stated approx 50 minutes. I think next time I'll bake it in a smaller pan because its a rather short cake. Its about the height of brownies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wow! This is a GOOD cake! I made it for a ladies meeting at church and there was SO many desserts that I feel proud that out of them all, 7 or 8 pieces were taken so plenty of leftovers! HE HE, more for us! After finally dicing up all the apples and putting it in the batter, it reminds you of a caramel apple and when you bake it, it's a baked caramel apple! This recipe deserves for anybody to make it. For any reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I just baked this cake and the result was a delicious, aromatic apple cake. Only problem was, my cake was crumbly, and fell apart if taken out of the baking pan. I used 3/4 c oil, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 c brown sugar, 2 large apples. It could be because I read the recipe incorrectly by having only 1 egg, which is the binder for this whole thing. Regarless of the down fall, this cake is a keeper and I will bake this again, with 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is DELICIOUS! The only thing I did was use 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup of veggie oil... I also accidentally put 3 tsp of cinnamon... IT IS SOOOOO GOOD! I will make this all fall/winter! Great as a coffee cake! THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States