Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
AMAZING! This is the best apple cake ever! I did make a couple changes. I used only 3/4c of oil..but subbed 1/2c for applesauce. I also used the suggestion of 2/3c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar. I also had to bake it for nearly 50mins before the bottom of the cake cooked. But even if it hadn't it wouldve still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Had to add a bit of milk as it was too dry. Sprinkled with icing sugar, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic cake! I took the advice of some others and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar and added milk until it turned into cake batter. And the streusel on top is great! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very easy to make and very delicious! I used 4 medium sized apples without peeling them, it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Since it is only my husband and myself, I halved the recipe using the calculation device. I used 2 granny smith apples, 1/2 tsp. of baking powder instead of the soda, and 2 tablespoons of milk since the batter was so stiff.I also used the struesel topping and baked for 40 min. The result was outstanding. It was moist,lots of apple flavor. Yum!! I should have baked a whole recipe. I could eat the whole thing myself!! Thanks for this marvelous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matty_Culp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Really tasted great. Mine came out a little wet but I am going to try this recipe again and cook it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Made this recipe back in 1993 and lost it. Seached your website and to my surprise, it's exactly like I remembered. Have made it 4 times in 2 weeks!! A favorite for Neighbor Gifts and Family get togethers..Easy and oh, so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeca may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
First, I'd like to say that I really LOVE this recipe (as does my whole family.) Unfortunately, I cannot five it five stars because I do have to make a change every time I make it. The batter can be extremely thick, more a dough than a batter. I thin it a little with milk to make it less viscous and it turns out just wonderful. Also, I only use 1 1/4 cups of sugar and 2/3 cups of oil. It is really a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It didn't look right (not like a batter at all - more like soft crumby mix) but it cooked up perfectly. I left the skin on my apples and still fabulous (extra nutrients and easier!). This is very rich with the amount of oil - almost a streudel without the cake part. It was a hit - would be great with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe was very quick, versatile & easy to put together. I was a little surprised at the consistency of the batter (perhaps because I substituted brown sugar--the German kind since that's where I live) but the cake was delicious! As someone else suggested: don't bother peeling the apples. I was skeptical but I was running late so I took a chance. It did not affect the texture. I can't wait to make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States