Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Terrible. The batter did not pour into pan - it was more like a crumble and had to be pressed into the pan. Too sweet and oily. The only tasty part was the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesl Hanlan
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This cake is super easy to make. It's very moist & full of chunks of apple. I only used 1.5 cups of sugar & thought it was plenty. I served it with homemade whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Easy as heck. I am a true non cook, and I decided I did not want to throw out another wilty apple (especially the ones the kids leave in their lunch boxes and forget to tell me about). What a waste, especially since I buy the good organic ones. So I wanted a simple, easy recipe using basic pantry items to turn those slightly shriveled up apples into something fabulous. This was great and the result was yummy. I will definitely do this again. I used olive oil, which was fine. Next time I might use less sugar. Thanks for this recipe! So proud of myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Mine wasn't very good.it was very SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I substituted 1/2 of the oil with applesauce, used 1c. of brown sugar and 1c. of white,I used 3 cups of chopped apples, and baked for 65 minutes, then sprinkled with instant cocoa mix for a light chocolately top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is great! Instead of 1c oil I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c dark rum. I also shredded the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this twice and still really didn't like it. My kids really like stuff like this and wouldn't touch it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe is one of my families favorite. Every where I go with this cake; I 'm asked for the recipe. I started making copies with me before hand so I can just hand them out. It's a moist, delicious comforting desert. It's wonderful. Thank you for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Thanks to IBNITWIT who suggested NOT peeling the apples!!! It was a HUGE time saver and the taste is great! This cake is fabulously moist. I'm going to take it to the office because I can't possibly eat that much cake in a day or two. Thanks for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
As written, this is pretty good. Heavy for a cake though. Definitely need to reduce the oil, and up the spices. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Ginger would be good as well as clove if you like it. I'm making this again this evening, replacing some oil with butter and reducing it overall in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States