Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
loved this as a dessert. however i was worried throughout the baking process. didn't know to what extend foamy mean so just beat the oil and eggs until a lot of bubbles were present. i added all the dry ingredients at once which i think i should not have done because the mixture was dry and i didn't think it was going to blend it. i persisted but the mixture was not a batter. it was very stiff unlike any other cake mixture I'd made before. The suggested baking time was not nearly enough. The cake was a nice colour but was still wobbly in the middle. A further 30 minutes later I decided to remove it from the oven. Despite all my concerns it turned out to be really moist. Next time I will add walnuts or sultanas but I'm not too sure what I could do about the suggested time being doubled what is suggested in the recipe. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We loved this cake! Changed nothing and it was perfect. Makes the house smell like a fine bakery, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by learning_to_cook
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very easy to make! I made it in two 8 inch round pans and it came out perfect in 35 minutes. I agree with some of the reviewers that you could cut out a bit of the sugar because it's really sweet but it's also great as-is! I'm also celiac so I used gluten free flour and my hubby said you couldn't taste a difference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
i made this recipe today...and it did not turn out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Terrible. The batter did not pour into pan - it was more like a crumble and had to be pressed into the pan. Too sweet and oily. The only tasty part was the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This cake is super easy to make. It's very moist & full of chunks of apple. I only used 1.5 cups of sugar & thought it was plenty. I served it with homemade whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Easy as heck. I am a true non cook, and I decided I did not want to throw out another wilty apple (especially the ones the kids leave in their lunch boxes and forget to tell me about). What a waste, especially since I buy the good organic ones. So I wanted a simple, easy recipe using basic pantry items to turn those slightly shriveled up apples into something fabulous. This was great and the result was yummy. I will definitely do this again. I used olive oil, which was fine. Next time I might use less sugar. Thanks for this recipe! So proud of myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Mine wasn't very good.it was very SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I substituted 1/2 of the oil with applesauce, used 1c. of brown sugar and 1c. of white,I used 3 cups of chopped apples, and baked for 65 minutes, then sprinkled with instant cocoa mix for a light chocolately top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States