Apple Butter with Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cristie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
My family loves it as the original recipe describes. I find it takes longer to reduce to the thickness that we like than described. Wonderful flavor-our new favorite apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I can't give this recipe enough stars! It was so easy to make, and tastes great! I added a bit more spice to mine, along with a little bit of sugar. I don't like mine lumpy, so I added it to a blender to make it smoother. This got RAVE reviews from everyone who tried it. I made this as my wedding favor, and after the wedding, people are calling asking if I had leftover jars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
i also added candied ginger and cardamom..... now that is the best apple butter ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Diablo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
First time I made apple butter. Very easy to make. Will definetly make this recipe again. Per other comments, I reduced the amount of apple cider and spices. I used 2 cups of apple cider for 2lbs of apples. While the apples were cooking I put in 2 cloves. The apples only took about an hour to cook and soften. I put the cooked apples/cider in my food processer and added about 1/4 cup honey. I only put a pinch of cinnamon and allspice (I don't like it too spicey). Then I cooked the mixture on the stove about another 15 minutes. It looked like applesause on the stove. But after the batch had cooled overnight in the frig it had a very nice apple butter consistency, it wasn't like applesauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
this was unusual. i don't know what it's supposed to look like but it looks like really thick applesauce. it tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! I doubled everything except the cloves and allspice, but I added 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. I also used locally grown Winesap apples that are not overly sweet and a bit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was my first time making or eating apple butter so I don't know how it is supposed to taste or look. But this recipe tastes very good! I cut all the spices in half and thought that it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is delicious!!! I followed other suggestions and used twice the apples and less spices. This is the best apple butter honey I have ever had and will taste great in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
First time I made Apple Butter and it was delicious!~ I had some honey apple cider (some taiwanese brand), only added the apples and cinnamon (no extra honey needed because it was sweet enough already) and it's great and feels healthy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I like the flavor of the apple butter and I really like the fact that it doesn't use sugar. My only issue and the reason i gave four stars instead of five was that it is a little to thin. I think next time I make this I will use 2 cups of cider instead of three. Has a great flavor though and you would never know there isn't any sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States