Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this as is with just a few minor changes and this was SOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I added a tsp of cloves, a tsp of nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp of ginger to the dry mix and it was amazing. I also added an extra few tsp of apple butter and almonds since I had no walnuts, plus I like the taste of almonds better, will try hazelnuts next time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moriarty, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
A scrumptious little coffee cake, if a bit on the sweet side. I made a small cake subbing pumpkin puree for half the butter and using equal parts all-purpose and whole wheat flour, as well as exchanging the sour cream for plain nonfat yogurt. Very nice moist texture and mild spice flavor warm from the oven as well as the morning after (there was a hint of "wheaty" taste I thought at first that was absent after sitting overnight). The next time I make this I will reduce the sugars both in the batter (half?) and in the topping (even less), which I thought was unnecessary/undesirable as an intermediate layer. I did omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Soooooooooooooo good. I, too, baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T - I liked it, but found that layering the bundt cake (my shape of choice)as recommended - batter, topping, batter, topping - left me with a crumbling, sugary layer - perhaps the flaw is not in the recipe, but in my oven - next time I am going to reverse the layering and add some bourbon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dusty S.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was gone very fast. I used my own homemade apple butter and made a glaze from powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use some homemade apple butter in. This is it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really good and easy. For eating a day or two later, 30 seconds in the microwave does wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Definitely a keeper. I made this for dessert tonight. The weather was cold and wet and it was perfect. I didn't use the topping - we used a little Cool Whip - and I substituted about 3/4 cup whole wheat flour for white. I served the cake warm. Another idea is to top with chunky, warm applesauce or a broiled icing (coconut, nuts, brown sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
A hit at the company potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This cake is really fantastic. I needed a recipe calling for Apple Butter and this far surpassed my expectations. I used Special K Cinnamon Pecan for the Bran cereal and subbed in 1 cup of canned pumpkin for the sour cream (my sister HATES sour cream and was convinced she'd be able to taste it). Turned out GREAT! I'll make this again over the holidays when family is in town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States