Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I ran out of sour cream so I substituted 1/2 C of buttermilk and it was just superb! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This cake had great flavor and would be a nice treat for brunch or dessert. The only change I made was to add small chunks of apples to the batter before baking. I found the topping to be a little dry so next time I may add something to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe is perfect as written, I followed the recipe exactly and it is absolutely the best recipe I have used on this site. I made it as cupcakes and used the topping on the top only, I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfection. I will definately use these as a brunch recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe was very very good! I made this for a coworker's birthday party and everyone loved it! I added the chunks of apple that a reviewer suggested and used my homemade apple butter. I will be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
A great cake that is super moist and full of flavor. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake was soooo good. I used oatmeal instead of wheat germ, and put slices of a honeycrisp apple on top before i baked it. The cake turned out very soft and stayed that way for a few days after (until it was gone). Next time I'll add apple chunks into my batter. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amesalk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This cake is just scrumptious. And Very moist. I've baked this cake twice this week for other people. Everyone loves it. Excellent served with real whipped cream on the side. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good. The cook time was a little long for my oven so use a toothpick to remove as soon as it is cooked through to retain as much moisture as possible. I will definitely make this again next fall to use up my extra apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OSTRICH36
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Delicious, and not difficult to make! I just made this for my husband's birthday and everyone raved about it. Very moist, and definitely no need for icing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I was looking for a good fall dessert recipe to make for a group we have over each Thursday night. I made it at night to test it out and so my family had it warm. I didn't like it warm as much as I liked it the next day when it was cold. It had a very moist texture. BUT, I don't think I would consider this a cake really. It is more like a coffee cake or dense like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States