Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T - I liked it, but found that layering the bundt cake (my shape of choice)as recommended - batter, topping, batter, topping - left me with a crumbling, sugary layer - perhaps the flaw is not in the recipe, but in my oven - next time I am going to reverse the layering and add some bourbon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dusty S.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was gone very fast. I used my own homemade apple butter and made a glaze from powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use some homemade apple butter in. This is it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really good and easy. For eating a day or two later, 30 seconds in the microwave does wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Definitely a keeper. I made this for dessert tonight. The weather was cold and wet and it was perfect. I didn't use the topping - we used a little Cool Whip - and I substituted about 3/4 cup whole wheat flour for white. I served the cake warm. Another idea is to top with chunky, warm applesauce or a broiled icing (coconut, nuts, brown sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
A hit at the company potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This cake is really fantastic. I needed a recipe calling for Apple Butter and this far surpassed my expectations. I used Special K Cinnamon Pecan for the Bran cereal and subbed in 1 cup of canned pumpkin for the sour cream (my sister HATES sour cream and was convinced she'd be able to taste it). Turned out GREAT! I'll make this again over the holidays when family is in town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I ran out of sour cream so I substituted 1/2 C of buttermilk and it was just superb! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This cake had great flavor and would be a nice treat for brunch or dessert. The only change I made was to add small chunks of apples to the batter before baking. I found the topping to be a little dry so next time I may add something to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe is perfect as written, I followed the recipe exactly and it is absolutely the best recipe I have used on this site. I made it as cupcakes and used the topping on the top only, I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfection. I will definately use these as a brunch recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States