Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is cake is very good, but I wasn't all that impressed with the brown sugar filling/topping. I think it needs something more than nuts and brown sugar. Perhaps some butter and oats added to the mix would make a better "crumble"? Otherwise, very good flavor! I got a lot of compliments on this after serving it at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was really good but I used a bundt pan and I think I need to adjust time/temp. For those using a bundt for this, at what temperature and for how long did you bake it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The nutmeg was a little strong for my taste, however everyone else who tried it loved it!! Will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this cake for our annual family pumpkin carving/dinner. I used my bundt pan and also added 1 1/2 c. chopped apples as other reviews suggested. I also put a sugar glaze on the cake. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great staple for a quick cake!! I only had pumpkin butter (my preference) and added 1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice to make it more of a spice cake. SO good. I'll be making the apple version as well. going in the permanent recipe stash. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpoonSister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Excellent cake!! I subbed 2 ingredients-I used vanilla yogurt in place of the sour cream & brown sugar instant oats(1 pkg) for the bran flakes/wheat germ). It was incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe that left my whole family in smiles. Even my son, whom won't try anything new, gobbled this recipe down. I recommend this recipe! It is spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this as is with just a few minor changes and this was SOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I added a tsp of cloves, a tsp of nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp of ginger to the dry mix and it was amazing. I also added an extra few tsp of apple butter and almonds since I had no walnuts, plus I like the taste of almonds better, will try hazelnuts next time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moriarty, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
A scrumptious little coffee cake, if a bit on the sweet side. I made a small cake subbing pumpkin puree for half the butter and using equal parts all-purpose and whole wheat flour, as well as exchanging the sour cream for plain nonfat yogurt. Very nice moist texture and mild spice flavor warm from the oven as well as the morning after (there was a hint of "wheaty" taste I thought at first that was absent after sitting overnight). The next time I make this I will reduce the sugars both in the batter (half?) and in the topping (even less), which I thought was unnecessary/undesirable as an intermediate layer. I did omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Soooooooooooooo good. I, too, baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States