Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
this cake was absolutely delicious. I did swap out the bran cereal for oatmeal---because i didn't have any bran cereal. i also added a diced apple to the batter and layered thinly sliced apples on top, beneath the brown sugar layer. it was very moist and flavorful. it was best when warm with caramel sauce and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Fantastic "coffee style" cake! I added a chopped apple that I tossed with cinnamon and a little nutmeg and put it in the middle layer of the cake...it was fantastic! (Turned out great even with fat free sour cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This cake got rave reviews by my seven year old granddaughter, who is someone who is not always easy to please! Wonderfully moist and full of flavor. Baked in 9x13 pan for 30 minutes. I served individual portions with caramel sauce and whole pecans, omitting the pecans from the topping. There was even more flavor the next day, making it a great do ahead recipe. Best served warm. So happy to be adding this recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I had an unopened jar of pumpkin butter that had been in my pantry for way too long, so I decided to make this using the pumpkin butter rather than apple butter. I made this as directed, but replaced the nutmeg with ginger out of personal preference. I also used quick oats in place of the cereal or wheat germ. This was excellent, nice and moist and not too sweet. Next time I might increase the topping so I’ll have a little extra for the top of the cake – I thought it could have used a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a good cake but it tasted like most coffee cakes. I put it in a smaller pan and cut down on the sugar in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I took this to a parenting class where I didn't even think anyone knew I'd brought it. After snack time I was receiving compliments though. This is a great fall recipe with its wonderful blend of spices. It would be a nice brunch or breakfast addition. I followed the recipe except I left out the nuts since I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We love this cake! Soft, moist, tender and slightly dense with a perfectly spiced and crunchy topping/filling. I used toasted wheat germ and the "All Day Apple Butter" from this site and could not be happier with the outcome. This is perfect as written and there is no need to change a thing. Although not needed, I added a drizzle of caramel and it is wonderful with or without. Very happy that I found this recipe. It will be enjoyed often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I get rave reviews about this cake every time I make it! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
As with some of the other reviewers, I made this recipe to use up some apple butter a friend had made. He said he had put too much clove in the butter, so I thought it would be better to use as an ingredient. This cake is delicious! I used the bran cereal that is shredded. I love any recipe with brown sugar, and pecans are the family's favorite nut. While this cake was baking, my grandson asked if I was making coffee cake, and I think this is actually more of a breakfast or brunch cake, but I'm certainly not going to "split hairs" on the issue. This recipe is a definite recommend! Thanks, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
It was really good. I stuck to the recipe but it wasn't enough to fit in 13x9 pan. Put it in abt a 9x9 instead and it barely spreaded out completely in that pan. But it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States