Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So comforting. I added chopped apples, but other than that, kept everything the same. I think that next time, I'd like to try switching out the sour cream for some strawberry flavored yogurt, just to save on calories, and also, although this cake is super good, I can taste the sour cream, and I'd rather taste yogurt. This is a keeper, though. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this per the recipe so I could give it a fair rating and it was delicious. Very moist and tasty. Definately a keeper and a great fall recipe. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I love this recipe, especially because my picky eater Husband loves it. I did make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. I used a 6oz carton of light vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and I used old fashioned oats in place of the wheat germ. The cake came out delicious and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
this cake hot outof the oven poke holes in top and take warm apple butter poured over the top and game over this cake rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was good, but not an "Oh, wow!" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made muffins out of this recipe. I used APPLE CIDER apple butter and I cut the sugar in the actual bread recipe in half. For muffins, there was a little too much topping (and imo, I think the topping needs butter, more like a streusel) but I'm not complaining. ;) I can't stop eating it. Quite moist, slightly chewy and VERY flavorful, one of the BEST quick breads I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow!! This recipe is what made me become a member!! #1) This site has never done me wrong. #2) This cake was amazing!! It was gone in a day (twind 10yr olds & my husband) - with begging for more! Although I did not have anymore Apple Butter, I did have a jar of Pumpkin Butter that I used and it was just as yummy !! Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I was disappointed with this. i did not like the topping at all, in my opinion walnuts or no nuts would've been better than pecans and it had too much nutmeg . I had a lot of topping leftover as well and put it on quite thick. The cake was nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This turned out absolutely amazing! All who tasted it said they could not have just one piece! My husband didn't even know that apple was in it. Which means I can now substitute applesauce for butter in any recipe and he won't know it. I couldn't get the layers right, but don't worry, it doesn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
The recipe as written has 2x as much sugar as I'd want! So minus a few stars for that. I made it healthier with whole wheat flour, reduced the butter a little, plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and cut the sugar in HALF - it was still a little too sweet for my tastes. Otherwise it was moist and tasty, will make again - with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States