Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
DELICIOUS! It is made with my favorite ingredients and a perfect dessert for this great fall weather. A big hit with my fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Leigh Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Everyone enjoyed this and it is an easy recipe to tinker with if you would like to switch out some of the all purpose flour for whole wheat. Very moist. Others I served this to mentioned that they might like some apple chunks in it. I think I may try it again sometime, cutting the recipe in half and baking it in a springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made it in a Bundt pan according to recipe but cut the sugar in half only in the batter, I layered the crumble then the mix then the crumbled then the mix. The crumble stuck to the pan but otherwise it turned out great it tasted awesome, my husband loved it I love it too, little sugary for me I did cut the sugar in the cake part in half. It is a very sweet cake, very aromatic, and yes I will be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Good flavor. But don't bake it 40 min in a 9x13! Probably more like 30 mins and if using a dark pan, set oven to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
good basic coffee cake. made it just as written but split into 2 cakes by baking in twin aluminum pie pans. baked for 45 minutes. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is a keeper! I used bran flakes for the cereal and chopped almonds instead of pecans (what I had in the house). This is perfect to make for office gatherings, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is such a good recipe! I made this a while back for a senior citizen center, and everyone raved about it. My husband absolutely loves this, too. It's a really good way to use up apple butter, too. I substitute different things like oat bran for the wheat bran, or walnuts for the pecans if I need to. It still turns out really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This cake is wonderful, albeit a little dry. Perhaps reduce the bran cereal by a 1/4 cup, and maybe increase the sour cream by 1/4 cup. That is the only reason I am giving this recipe 4 stars instead of 5. The flavor is wonderful. It is a very comforting cake. On my mom's last birthday she was alive, she requested a spice cake and this is the one I made. She loved it. Very fond memories with her and this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This turned out amazing. I had some apple butter I wanted to use up and I actually wound up buying more apple butter because I kept having people ask me to make it for them. Its pretty quick and easy. I also experimented with it a little and added caramel pieces as I baked it to give it an added flavor (and use up some other ingredients I had laying around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I enjoyed this cake a lot. Very easy and quick to make. I didn't need a 13X9 cake, so I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a smaller square pan. Like others, I didn't have any bran cereal or wheat germ so I subbed in rolled oats with no discernible difference. I also cut back on the sugar a bit. A flavorful, moist cake I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States